Collections

Articles

Finding Aids

Manuscript Groups (MGs) are collections of materials which have a common theme or origin. They may be the records of a family, an individual, an organization, or a local business. Below is a list of collection titles. Each title links to a finding aid (the contents list) for the manuscript group. The titles are shown in alphabetical order, by surname when appropriate. Patrons may obtain copies while researching onsite or by request.

Elizabethtown Insurance Company Records, 1872-1941 Print Email
March 24, 2015

Call Number: MG-684

4 boxes     38 folders     2.5 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 14

Description: This collection contains documents and record books from the Elizabethtown Insurance Company. Items include records of new policies issued, policies cancelled, reinsurance policies, and books documenting taxes owed to the Elizabethtown Insurance Company. The collection also contains receipt books, personal agent books, and various notes and documents inserted into the lager record books. All documents are handwritten by multiple individuals and some books have missing, or broken spines. Many items are fragile, and caution should be used when turning pages to avoid further tearing and damage.

Biographical Note: The Elizabethtown Insurance Company was formally chartered on December 23, 1843 as Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company. They started doing business January 31, 1844 and by June 1844 had applications from prospective policy holders for enough insurance to issue their first policy. The company was originally developed to insure against loss or damage by fire, but eventually began insuring other types of property damage. Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company moved multiple times; finding homes in Lampeter and Conestoga Townships, as well as Lancaster City. The company moved to Elizabethtown in 1925, and in July of 2009, Farmers’ Mutual changed their name to Elizabethtown Insurance Company. In 2011 Elizabethtown Insurance Company stopped accepting new applications, and in 2012, the company relocated to Delaware.

Creator: Elizabethtown Insurance Company

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Gift of Elizabethtown Insurance Company, by Michael Petrelia, President

Related Materials: MG-65 Griest: William Walton Griest Collection, Series 19 Taxes/Tariffs, 1909-1929

MG-283 Long: Judge Henry G. Long Collection, 1752-1888

Subject Headings:

Elizabethtown (Pa.)

Lancaster (Pa.)

Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company (Lancaster Pa.)

Fire insurance—Pennsylvania.

Insurance policies—Pennsylvania.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by RA, March 24, 2015.

 

Box 1

Folder 1 Tax payment receipt booklets. Payments from Henry L. Gise to J.N Oweiler. 1926-1929

Folder 2 Tax payment receipt booklets. Payments from Henry L. Gise to J.N Oweiler. 1929-1932

Folder 3 Tax payment receipt booklets. Payments from Henry L. Gise to J.N Oweiler. 1932-1936

Folder 4 Harry W. Beare agent book. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1911

Folder 5 H.R. Gibbel agent book. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1924, 1926

Folder 6 John Haldeman agent book. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. No Date

Folder 7 Isaac Herr agent book. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1910

 

Folder 8

Insert 1 H. Reist Landis agent book. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1922-1923

Insert 2 Statement to E.R. Zortman for payment of $20.86 due to H. Reist Landis on November 1, 1923. 1923

Statement to A.W. Miller for payment of $13.44 due to H. Reist Landis on November 1, 1923. 1923

Note from H. Reist Landis detailing his final settlement for collection. 14 November 1923

 

Folder 9 Agent book with no name, as well as agent books belonging to B.E. Leaman, and C.H. Miller. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1922-1923

Folder 10 Agent books for J.M. Trout. Includes names of policy holders, address or nearest post office, policy amount, premium, percentage rate, and amount owed or collected. 1915

Folder 11 B.H. Snovely treasurer book. Includes bank ledger for Farmers mutual Fire Insurance Company. 1913-1917

Folder 12 Isaac R. Herr secretary book. Includes record of policy holder tax payments. 1912-1914

Folder 13 Isaac R. Herr secretary book. Includes record of policy holder tax payments. 1914-1916

Folder 14 Isaac R. Herr secretary book. Includes record of policy holder tax payments. 1916-1919

 

Folder 15

Insert 1 Book containing Elizabethtown Insurance Men’s Association constitution and bylaws, meeting minutes, and meeting attendence lists. No Date

Insert 2 Items inserted in front cover of book mentioned above. Includes order form for Elizabethtown Herald, Book and Job Printing- Linotype Composition; tax statement for G. Walter Dulebohn; small lined paper with meeting minutes; and meeting minutes for meeting held on January 2, 1917, written on the back of a 1916 vehicle registration form. 1916-1917

 

Box 2

Folder 16 Fire tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1911

 

Folder 17

Insert 1 Postcards from Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company to Susan E. Miller and Mr. Reilly regarding their taxes owed. Postcards were inserted into the front cover of the 1912-1913 tax book. 16 November 1912, 2 January 1913

Insert 2 Fire tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1912-1913

 

Folder 18 Fire tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1913

Folder 19 Fire tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1914

Folder 20 Fire tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1915

 

Folder 21

Insert 1 Lists of unpaid 1917 taxes. Inserted into front cover of 1917-1918 tax book. Includes policy holders, as well as their policy numbers, address, and amount owed. 1917

Insert 2 Handwritten notes regarding policy holders, policies, and amounts collected. Inserted into back cover of 1917-1918 tax book. No Date

Insert 3 Letters from H.G. Shimp, Justice of the Peace, to Henry L. Gise of Elizabethtown regarding an application for insurance for the Denver House, and insurance policy information for F. & M. Hat Co. Inserted in back cover of 1917-1918 tax book. 1918

Insert 4 List titled “City”. List shows individual names, addresses, and a dollar amount. Inserted between paged 66 and 67 in 1917-1918 tax book. No Date

Insert 5 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1917

 

Folder 22

Insert 1 Documents inserted in front cover of 1919-1921 tax book. Includes handwritten list, invitation from the Ladies Bible class in Elizabethtown PA, letter from the Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company Board of Directors to policy holders, and typed tally of 1918 tax amounts. 1918

Insert 2 Comparative statement of insurance written and cancelled for the years 1917, 1918, 1919, and 1920. Inserted in page 11 of 1919-1921 tax book. No Date.

Insert 3 Handwritten note inserted in page 20 of 1919-1921 tax book. No Date

Insert 4 Handwritten note inserted in page 27 of 1919-1921 tax nook. No Date.

Insert 5 Typed list titled “County” as well as handwritten note inserted in page 46 of 1919-1921 tax book. 3 May 1920

Insert 6 Handwritten note regarding policy payment. Inserted in page 49 of 1919-1921 tax book. 1921

Insert 7 Documents inserted in page 54 of 1919-1921 tax book. Includes letter from John Haldeman to Farmers’ Mutual Insurance Company. 7 April 1919

Insert 8 Payment receipt inserted in page 66 of 1919-1921 tax book. 15 October 1921

Insert 9 Handwritten note regarding money owed for a policy on a car that had been sold. Inserted in page 89 of 1919-1921 tax book. No Date.

Insert 10 Tally sheets of taxes paid in 1919 and 1920. Include handwritten notes. 1919-1920

 

Folder 23 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1919-1921

 

Folder 24

Insert 1 Business card and with handwritten note inserted in front cover of 1922-1923 tax book. No Date

Insert 2 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1922-1923

 

Folder 25

Insert 1Handwritten note inserted in front cover of 1925 tax book. No Date

Insert 2 Form letters regarding documents to be signed. Inserted between pages 42 and 43 in 1925 tax book. 28 December 1923

Insert 3 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1925

 

Folder 26 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1929-1932

Folder 27 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1933-1936

 

Box 3

Folder 28 Tax record book. Includes lists of policy holders as well as their policy numbers, insurance amount, address, interest rate, and tax owed. 1936-1938

Folder 29 Farmers’ Insurance Company receipts book. Includes records of payments made to the Farmers’ Insurance Company, as well as a list of Farmers’ Insurance Company agents 1921-1925

Folder 30 Farmers’ Insurance Company receipts book. Includes records of payments made to the Farmers’ Insurance Company. 1929-1941

 

Folder 31

Insert 1 Cash policies record book. Includes record of polices and payments. (Spine Detached) 1926-1934

Insert 2 Handwritten list of policy owners and their amounts owed. No Date

 

Folder 32 Policy cancellation record. Includes policy number, holder name and address, date cancelled, and reason for cancellation. 1922-1934

 

Folder 33

Insert 1 Reinsurance record book. Includes policy holder name, former insurance company, expiration date, policy amount, annual percentage rate, and new Farmers’ Mutual policy number. 1926-1933

Insert 2 Documents inserted between pages 4 and 5 of reinsurance book. Includes letter to Henry L. Gise from J. N. Brandt, as well as pro rata tax documents. 1932

Insert 3 Documents inserted between pages 18 and 19 of reinsurance book. Includes letter from Henry L Guise to all Farmers’ Mutual policy owners, as well as a hand-written note. 1924-1926

Insert 4 Documents inserted between pages 34 and 35 of reinsurance book. Includes commission summary from Farmers’ Mutual to Penn Township Mutual Fire Insurance Company. 13 December 1930

Insert 5 Documents inserted in back cover of reinsurance book. Includes letters to Farmers’ Mutual regarding policy holders. 1926,1930

Insert 6 Documents inserted in back cover of reinsurance book. Includes correspondence regarding policy summaries between Farmers’ Mutual/Elizabethtown Insurance Company and other insurance companies. No Date

 

Box 4

Folder 34

Insert 1 New Policy Book. Includes policy number, policy holder name, date of insurance, amount of insurance, and a brief description and value of the property insured. This books also contains the signatures of auditors and new policy holders, as well as legal disclaimers and agreements. 1872-1912

Insert 2 Lists of reinsurance from Lykens Valley Mutual, inserted in front cover of 1872-1912 new policies book. No Date.

Insert 3 Calculations for amount owed to policy holder, inserted between pages 98 and 99 of 1872-1912 new policies book. No Date

 

Folder 35 Book of new policies issues and policies increased. Includes policy number, policy holder name, date of insurance, amount of insurance, and a brief description and value of the property insured. 1880-1905

Folder 36 New policies book. Includes policy number, policy holder name, date of insurance, amount of insurance, and a brief description and value of the property insured. Marked “New Policies for 1912- Pg 400” on front cover, pages 1-399 are undated, and policies are listed alphabetically by policy holder’s last name. 1912

Folder 37 New policies book Includes policy number, policy holder name, date of insurance, amount of insurance, and a brief description and value of the property insured. 1914-1930

Folder 38 Documents inserted in front cover of 1914-1930 new policies book. Includes one page of a typed affidavit of defense for Christ Martin, the defendant in the case H.A. Gantert vs. Christ Martin, as well as a handwritten list of cash insurance policies. 1913-1926

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Lancaster Soup Fund Records, 1880-1888 Print Email
March 24, 2015

Call Number: MG-728

1 folder

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains four annual reports for the Lancaster Soup Fund during the decade of the 1880s. These reports list as contributors many prominent citizens, including Gen. George M. Steinman, H. E. Slaymaker, Hon. Henry G. Long, and C. F. Hager.

Creator: Lancaster Soup Fund (Lancaster, Pa.)

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Source unknown. Transferred from the Document Collection, June 2014.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by PH, August 2014.

 

Folder 1

The fourth annual (winter 1880-1881) Lancaster Soup Fund report including financial statements and several paragraphs about the operation of the fund during this period by John T. McGonigle and Samuel A. Groff.

A Lancaster Soup Fund financial report for the winter of 1885-1886 by D. P. Rosenmiller accountant, with the names of donors and those receiving payment.

A Lancaster Soup Fund financial report for the winter of 1886-1887 by William A. Morton, accountant, with the names of donors and those receiving payment.

A Lancaster Soup Fund financial report for the winter of 1887-1888 by Sher. Smith, Chief of Police, with the names of donors and those receiving payment.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Lyte Family Papers, 1884-1930 Print Email
March 24, 2015

Call Number: MG-727

1 box    4 folders     .2 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains documents pertaining to the family of Joshua Louis Lyte and Amelia Fleetwood Lyte including deeds, Masonic membership information, a mortgage, a will and other documents that together provide a few details of the family’s relationships and activities from 1884 to 1930.

Creator: Lyte, Mary R., d. 1931.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Source unknown. Transferred from the Document Collection, June 2014.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by PH, August 2014.

 

Folder 1 Lancaster Cemetery Deed

A copy of the deed to lots 2212, 2213, 2214, 2215 in the Lancaster Cemetery deeded to David Fleetwood and Joshua L. Lyte, 1884. (The original of this document is in Oversized Items Box 6, Folder 3, Item 6)

A transfer of lots 2212 and 2213 in the Lancaster Cemetery by Laura H. Albright, H. Fleetwood Albright Jr., J. H. Lyte and Elizabeth Lyte to Mary R. Lyte, other names Joshua L. Lyte, Amelia F. Lyte, the second paragraph of this document articulates the relationships of the above parties, 1930

 

Folder 2 Joshua Louis Lyte Masonic documents

A copy of a short biography of Joshua L. Lyte from a history of the Lancaster Mason Lodge 43 that is the exact same text as in the two volumes “History of Lodge No. 43 F. & A. M. of Lancaster, PA 1785-1935…” and “175 Years of Ancient York Masonry …of Lodge No. 43 F. & A. M. Lancaster, PA 1785-1960” (LancasterHistory.org library Call Numbers respectively LC 366.1 F855c and LC 366.1 F855d)

A copy of Joshua L. Lyte’s certificate of admission to promotion to 33 degree in the Masons, 1886, the original has been transferred to the museum on 3/21/1994

An invitation to George H. Rothermel for Joshua L. Lyte’s birthday party 20 September 1901, other names: Henry Burger, John C. Carter, Joel S. Eaby, J. Frederick Fisher, David Fleetwood, Robert W. Groezinger, John W. Lansinger, Eliphalet O. Lyte, 1901

 

Folder 3 Mary R. Lyte

A receipt from the Lancaster Co. recorder of deeds for mortgage to West End Building and Loan, 1929

A mortgage for Mary R. Lyte on property 111 N. Lime St. Lancaster, PA to West End Building and Loan, 1929

A bond and warrant from Mary R. Lyte to West End Building and Loan, 1929

A letter from Musselman & Schwarz Plumbing and Heating to Mrs. J. L. Lyte, 5304 Lancaster Avenue, Philadelphia, PA about work on her building on N. Lime St., other names John E. Musselman and Peter Schwarz, 1919

 

Folder 4 Amelia Fleetwood Lyte

A will of Amelia F. Lyte signed 1916 assigning her daughter Mary Rebecca Lyte (nurse) the house on 111 N. Lime St. Lancaster, PA and it’s contents, to her son Harold Lyte a legacy from his grandmother Fleetwood and other monies, witnesses William H. Keller & Mabel Mae Kline, 1919 with a 1921 addendum to the will

An envelope for the above will from the offices of Coyle & Keller attorneys at law 110 East King St. Lancaster, PA

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Leaman Family Papers, 1783-1855 Print Email
March 24, 2015

Call Number: MG-726

1 box     7 folders     .2 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains papers pertaining to several Leaman family members many of them are financial records, and a few are legal documents. It is not known what relationships exist among the various people in these documents and if the same name in the different documents refer to the same person.

Creator: Leaman family.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Source unknown. Transferred from the Document Collection, June 2014.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by PH, August 2014.

 

 

Folder 1 Receipts, Peter, Henry and Jacob Leman

A receipt for County Tax paid by Jacob Leman, brewer 1830

A receipt for dry goods paid by Henry Lehman, 1829

A receipt for postage paid by Henry E. Lemon, 1838

A receipt for debt paid by Peter Leman, 1803

 

Folder 2 Letter, lot plan and receipts, for John Leaman

A letter from John Leaman to his brother Henry Leaman on the reverse side is an account of payment on a bond, 1827

A lot plan for land in Paradise Twp. for Rev. Dr. John Leman, 1855

A receipt for John Leaman from John Brown and William T. Brown, no date

A receipt for John Leaman from David Stoutzenberger, 1819

A receipt for John Leaman from John Whiteside, 1828

A receipt for John Leaman from A Wiley, 1829

A receipt for John Leaman from James Wiley, 1828

A receipt for Mr. Leaman from Kirkpatrick Co. for dry goods, no date

A receipt for Mr. Leaman from Moderwell & Andrews for dry goods, 1829

A receipt for Mr. John Leaman from Moderwell & Andrews for dry goods, 1828

 

Folder 3 Papers of Christian Leaman

A bond of Christian Leaman to Peter Ferree and John Shertz (spelled Shirts on this document) for the debt of his father and mother’s estate (Daniel and Hannah Leaman), 1791

A bond of Christian Leaman to Peter Ferree And John Shertz for one hundred and thirty pounds four shillings and two pence the debt of his father and mother’s estate (Daniel and Hannah Leaman), 1791

A bond of Christian Leaman to Peter Ferree And John Shertz for two hundred and twenty seven pounds ten shillings and ten pence the debt of his father and mother’s estate (Daniel and Hannah Leaman), 1791

A bond of Christian Leaman to Peter Ferree And John Shertz for one hundred and seventy six pounds four shillings and six pence the debt of his father and mother’s estate (Daniel and Hannah Leaman), 1795

An account of transactions between Christian Leaman and David Stoutzenbarger, 1819 and 1820

A receipt for Dr. Mr. C. Leaman from A. K. Russel for tuition of son, etc., May 1826

A receipt for Dr. Mr. C. Leaman from A. K. Russel for tuition of son, etc., May-August 1826

A receipt for Dr. Mr. C. Leaman from A. K. Russel for tuition of son, etc., November and December 1826, January-April 1827

A receipt for Dr. Mr. C. Leaman from A. K. Russel for tuition of son, etc., May-September 1827

A receipt for Dr. Mr. C. Leaman from A. K. Russel for tuition of son, etc., October-December 1827

A bill from the Lancaster County Academy for Christian Leaman, tuition for his son and fuel, 1828

A receipt for Christian Leaman from the Academy, 1828

A bill from the Lancaster County Academy for Christian Leaman, tuition for his son and fuel, 1829

A bond of John Wagner, Jacob Bitty, Martin Wagner and George Wagner to Christian Leaman, 1826

A note from Christian Leaman to pay Sarah Kinzer $866, 1826

A receipt of $14.40 from Christian Leaman by Henry Kinzer, 1829

A receipt by Christian Leaman from Peter Ferree, 1789

A receipt for Mr. Christian Leaman from Moderwell & Andrews for dry goods, 1829

A note from Samuel Leaman to pay Christian Leaman 15 pounds money, 1810

A receipt of Christian Leaman for James Ketton, Gap and Newport turnpike, 1816

Eight receipts of payment by Christian Leaman for the estate of David Stoutzenberger to Jacob Duchman, Henry C. Swartz, 1824 and 1825

 

Folder 4 Papers of Daniel Leaman, d. 1783

A receipt of Peter Ferree and John Sherts for the estate of Daniel Leaman by Samuel Leaman, 1783

An account of money paid Hannah Leaman widow of Daniel Leaman and his son Christian Leaman by Peter Ferree executor of Daniel Leaman’s estate, 1783 -1786

A receipt of Peter Ferree executor of Daniel Leaman’s estate by Everard Gruber for drawing a mortgage of Christian Leaman, 1791

 

Folder 5 Papers of Daniel Leaman 1800’s

An account of Daniel Leaman to John Wagener, 1816-1818

A document granting Adam Neher power of attorney for Daniel Leaman in Sicking County, Ohio, 1823

A bond of indemnity for Daniel Leaman, Jacob Ritz, Martin Wagner and George Wagner to Christian Leaman, 1827

An account of John Wagoner with entries for Daniel Leaman and his wife Mary, other names included are John Wagoner, Henry Brackbill and Adam Neher, 1809–1817

An appointment of John Wagner as substitute in power of attorney for Adam Neher, other names on document are Jasper Slaymaker, M. Caffee, L. H. Bancroft, A. G. Caffee and Christian Leaman, 1826

 

Folder 6 Papers of Mr. Leaman 1826, 1827, 1828

Receipt from Mr. Leaman to M. W. Tillie, 1827

Receipt from Mr. Leaman to John Whiteside, 1828

Receipt from Mr. Leaman to A. M. Russel, 1826

Receipt from Mr. Leaman to Robert Russel, 1828

Receipt from Mr. Leaman to John Whiteside, 1829

 

Folder 7 Leaman Papers 1794 – 1819

A letter to Christian Leaman Paradise post office from Daniel Leaman portage Newark, other names in letter Joseph Leaman, the widow Wagoner, no date

Christian Leaman’s (Lampeter Twp.) judgment bond for the annual dower of Hannah Leaman, other names: John Sherts (Strasburg Twp.), Daniel Leaman, Samuel Lefever, Susanna Sherts, 1794

Christian Leaman’s (Lampeter Twp.) Indemnifying bond for the annual dower of Hannah Leaman, names: John Sherts (Strasburg Twp.), Daniel Leaman, Samuel Lefever, Susanna Sherts, 1794

Bond of Christian Leaman innkeeper Strasburg Twp. to John Whitehill of Strasburg Twp., names: David Watson, Samuel Watson, James Gault

Receipt Hannah Leaman of Christian Leaman form the estate of Daniel Leaman, John Leaman witness, 1807

A note from Isaac Leaman and Samuel Leaman to Christian Leaman for $100, witnesses Nancy Leaman & Elizabeth Leaman, 1810

A receipt from John Leaman for Samuel Leaman (miller) by Christian Leaman, 1812

A letter from John Wagoner to Christian [Chrstly] Leaman, other name mentioned Daniel Leaman, 1818

Power of attorney Daniel Leaman to Christian Leaman in the matter of the will of John Waggoner, Daniel Leaman is described as a house carpenter married to Marry Waggoner daughter of John Waggoner late of Bart Twp., witnesses William Spurrier and Sam Carpenter, 1818

Received of Christian Leaman $19.44 for cutting and putting David Stoutzeberger’s grain ready for hauling in the barn, signature not determined, 1819

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Herbst: Dr. Charles Herbst Papers, 1830-1865 Print Email
March 20, 2015

Call Number: MG-725

1 box     4 folders

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains the estate papers and financial documents of Dr. Charles Herbst.

Creator: Herbst, Charles, 1782-1865.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Documents were transferred from the Document Collection, Box 5, Folders 6, 7, 8 and 12 in May 2014.

Biographical Information: Dr. Charles Herbst is buried at Woodward Hill Cemetery, Lancaster, PA. In May 1813, he served as surgeon in Major Humes’ Lancaster Battalion.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by PH, July 2014.

 

Folder 1 Estate papers

A memorandum of the division of Trust Interest in the hands of F. Sener and N. Ellmaker, executors of Dr. Charles Herbst, interest due to Mrs. Bates, Mrs. Harman and Mrs. Longenecker, 1865

A more detailed memorandum of the division of Trust Interest in the hands of F. Sener and N. Ellmaker, executors of Dr. Charles Herbst, interest due to Mrs. Bates, Mrs. Harman and Mrs. Longenecker, part of this document is illegible due to fading,1864,1865

An extract from the account filed on Dr. Herbst’s estate Aug. 2, 1865

An account for the estate of Dr. Herbst, 1865

A receipt from William Beates for the estate of Dr. C. Herbst.

 

Folder 2 Receipts, Contracts and Promissory Notes

A contract to sell land in Rapho Twp. from the estate of Henry Herbst by executors Charles Herbst and William Bates to Edward Bird Grubb of Rapho Ironmaster, 1831

A receipt for a debt by John Longenecker to Nathaniel Bart paid by Charles Herbst, 1830

A promissory note to Dr. Charles Herbst from M. Bruner, 1844

A promissory note to Dr. Charles Herbst from Jacob Huber, witness H. G. Long, 1843

A receipt of Mrs. Elizabeth Herbst by John Longenecker, witnessed Charles Herbst and William Beates, 1833

A receipt of Henry Herbst by Jacob Wisler, other names on document are John Wisler and Charles Herbst, 1823

A promissory note to Dr. Charles Herbst from Arthur Armstrong, 1847

A promissory note to The Lancaster Bank from Charles Herbst, 1849

A promissory note to Dr. Charles Herbst from William Kirkpatrick, 1860

A promissory note to C. Geiger from Charles Herbst, 1857

 

Folder 3 Deed to Lot 515 in Lancaster Cemetery

A deed to lot 515 in the Lancaster Cemetery to Charles Herbst, 1849, transferred to Mrs. Ann Bates, Mrs. Susan Harman and Mrs. Catharine Longenecker, 1867

 

Folder 4 Bonds

A bond for $6,000 of Samuel Keller to Dr. Charles Herbst, 1846

A judgment bond for $680, Samuel Keller to Dr. Charles Herbst 1847

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Apprenticeship and Indenture Documents, 1762-1855 Print Email
March 20, 2015

Call Number: MG-721

1 box     6 folders     .25 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains legal contracts between apprentice, or the parent or guardians, and master; as well as one contract between an indentured servant and master. The contracts identify the parties involved, municipalities, trade to be learned, and terms of contract.

Creator: LancasterHistory.org (Organization)

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English and German

Source of Acquisition: Source of acquisition is noted at the item level if known.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by PH, July 2014; updated March 2015.

 

Folder 1

Henry Humphreville with the advice and consent of his mother Susanna Humphreville indentures himself to John Ihling in the borough of Lancaster as a tinplate worker on the 27 February 1816. Gift of Frank Humphreville, 11 July 1897. Transferred from Document Collection, June 2014.

David Moore is indentured by his natural mother Catharine Fenney to John Peddin of Hempfield Twp. as a servant, 5 July 1762. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 5, Folder 10, June 2014.

John Porter son of William Porter deceased by his own free will and the consent of Zacharias Moore and Jacob Eversole overseers of the poor of Donegal Twp. Apprenticed himself to John Brant as a house carpenter and joiner, 20 November 1793. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 5, Folder 10, June 2014.

 

Folder 2

An agreement by Seneca Carver of Little Britain Twp. to apprentice himself to Alexander and Irwin of Colerain Twp. as a blacksmith and establish him in a blacksmith shop, 29 December 1834. Transferred from Document Collection, June 2014.

Peter Stewart (a mulatto) of the age sixteen months is indentured until he is 21 years of age as a servant to Abraham Johnston by Peter Stewart’s mother Mary Parsons, 13 November 1784. Transferred from Document Collection, June 2014.

 

Folder 3

Jacob Reinhard with the advice and consent of his mother Mary Reinhard apprentices himself to Peter Reed saddler of the borough of Lancaster for five years and six months, 1 June 1798. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 1, Folder 16, June 2014.

William W. Steele of Drumore Twp. indentures his ward Amos (of color) to Nicholas C. Boyd of Little Britain Twp. To learn housewifery and farming and give him one year of schooling, 9 May 1833. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 2, Folder 14, June 2014.

 

Folder 4

Samuel Remo, with the advice and consent of his mother, Jenetta Remo, indentures himself to Christian Humerich in Lancaster as a saddler. 14 August 1802. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 9, Folder 4, March 2015.

Susanna Remo, with the advice and consent of his mother, Jenetta Remo, indentures himself to Christian Humerich in Lancaster to learn housewifery. 14 August 1802. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 9, Folder 4, March 2015.

Patrick Convery indentured to James Daly for passage to Philadelphia. Term of two years. 19 June 1798. Samuel Remo, with the advice and consent of his mother, Jenetta Remo, indentures himself to Christian Humerich in Lancaster as a saddler. 14 August 1802. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 9, Folder 4, March 2015.

 

Folder 5

John Ruch, son of Peter Ruch, apprenticed to George Ganter, a joiner in Cocalico Twp. Consent for the apprenticeship given by Fredrich Seeger and Jacob Johns, Justices of the Peace, to Brecknock Twp.’s Overseers of the Poor, Christian Messner and John Lesher. 24 December 1793. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 7, Folder 6, March 2015.

James Welsh of Philadelphia apprenticed to John Hess of Providence Twp., Lancaster County to learn farming. 5 March 1855. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 7, Folder 6, March 2015.

 

Folder 6

Philip Quick of Manheim Twp. apprenticed himself to George Long, a weaver, of Cocalico Twp. 19 April 1768. Gift of Guy Eshleman, 5 November 1954. Transferred from Document Collection, Box 7, Folder 6, March 2015.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Lancaster Recreation Commission Records Print Email
March 13, 2015

This collection is only partially cataloged, but may be used by special arrangement with the Archives staff.

Call Number: MG-567

13 boxes     x folders     8 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Lancaster, Pa.)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 12

Description:   This collection contains the historic records of the Lancaster Recreation

Commission.

Creator: Lancaster Recreation Commission (Lancaster, Pa.)

Conditions for Access: Please make an appointment with the Archives staff, at least two weeks prior to you visit, to use this collection.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

System of Arrangement:

Series I – Minutes (Boxes 1-4)

Series II – General Administrative (Boxes 5-6)

Sub-series i – Reports (Box 5)

Sub-series ii – History (Box 6)

Sub-series iii – Personnel (Box 6)

Sub-series iv – Surveys (Box 6)

Series III – Loose news clippings (Box 6)

Series III – Bound news clippings (Box 7)

Series IV – Financial (Boxes 7-8)

Series V – Facilities (Box 8)

Series VI – Programming (Boxes 8-9)

Sub-series i – Training (Box 9)

Sub-series ii – Senior Citizens [items with a dot in the upper right hand corner were previously unfoldered] (Box 10)

1 scrapbook (news clippings) (Box 10)

Sub-series ii – Senior Citizens (Box 11)

1 scrapbook (Vermont trip) (Box 11)

Series VII – External Organizations (Boxes 11-12)

Plans (Box 13)

Language:    English

Source of Acquisition: Lancaster Recreation Commission

Administrative History: Collection arranged and finding aid started by AN, 2010.   


Series II – General Administrative

Box 5

Series II, Folder 1 – Conference [Materials]

Letter from Lawrence Frankel Foundation Conference Coordinator, Betty Richard to Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding conference registration. February 14, 1973. 1 page.

List of titles –“A Five Foot Recreation Bookshelf.” [undated.] 3 pages.

Transcription of above list “A Five Foot Recreation Bookshelf. [undated.] 5 pages.

Minutes – Third Round Table Conference. April 19-21, 1928. 9 pages.

Brochure – Pennsylvania Department of Welfare, Pennsylvania Conference on Social Welfare Institutes. February, 1929. 1 page.

Pamphlet – Playground and Recreation Association of America, The 1928 Congress. September 27 - October 2, 1928. 2 pages.

Questionnaires – [Regarding how recreation programs should be run and resources needed. [undated.] 4 pages.

Notes – State College Conference. May 18-20, 1948. 4 pages.

Series II, Folder 2 – City of Lancaster Correspondence

Letter from John M. Moedinger’s Sons to Albert W Seitz of the Sixth Ward Park Association, regarding erection of granite memorial within the park. May 19, 1941. 2 pages.

Memorandum from Director of Recreation, A.E. Reese, Jr., to Mayor Monahan [sic], regarding hourly rates of part-time employees. June 23, 1969. 1 page.

Letter from Mayor Kendig C. Bare to President of Lancaster Recreation Association, John C. Stauffer, regarding Eshelman property survey. April 6, 1956. 1 page.

Letter from Superintendent of Recreation Association, John C. Stauffer, to Mayor Kendig C. Bare, regarding 1956 Summer Playground Program. April 12, 1956. 1 page.

Letter from Mayor Kendig C. Bare to President of Recreation Association, John C. Stauffer, regarding 1956 Summer Playground Program. April 6, 1956. 1 page.

Letter from Superintendent of Recreation Association, John C. Stauffer, to Mayor Kendig C. Bare, regarding Eshelman property. April 12, 1956. 1 page.

Letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Mayor Kendig C. Bare, regarding recommendation for use of Paul Eshelman property. March 19, 1956. 2 pages.

Copy of a letter from Mayor Thomas J. Monaghan to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding funding from Lancaster City. April 14, 1958. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Lancaster City Planning Commission, Burrell Cohen, to Mayor and City Council, regarding acquisition of Ben Groff property for use as a park. June 13, 1958. 2 pages.

Letter from The Breakfast Optimist Club Of Lancaster Secretary-Treasurer, Durrell A. Hollinger, to Albert Reese, regarding projects contemplated at Williamson Park. November 13, 1967. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Mayor Thomas J. Monaghan to Gertrude Kreisle, regarding street showers. June 13, 1961. 1 page.

Memorandum from Consultant and Chairman of North Carolina Recreation Commission, Harold D. Meyer, to Mrs. H.C. Kreisle, Mr. Burrell Cohen, Mayor George Coe, and Mr. C. Bickley Foster regarding suggestion to make area around waterworks a recreational area. May 8, 1962. 1 page.

Letter from City Planner, Robert D. Wisor, to Director of Recreation, Albert Reese, regarding site plan for Reservoir Park and recreation needs to be met. August 6, 1962. 1 page.

Letter on reverse of above from Director of Recreation, Albert E., Reese Jr., to City Planner, Robert D. Wisor, regarding “too many ‘ifs’ in the development of [Reservoir] park.” August 13, 1962.

Letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Chief of Police, Al Farkas, thanking him for assistance in monitoring summer recreation programs. September 29, 1964. 1 page.

Report by Lancaster Recreation Commission, “Problem – Should Parks (maintenance) and Recreation Commission (program) be combined in the re-organization of Lancaster City Government.” May 17, 1965. 1 page.

Letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding endorsement of funds for Reservoir Park. February 6, 1967. 1 page.

Letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Mayor Thomas J. Monaghan regarding enclosed motion passed by Recreation Commission to have a comprehensive survey of the Lancaster City Recreation program conducted by the National Recreation and Parks Association. September 16, 1966. 2 pages.

Copy of Memorandum from [Executive Director of Redevelopment Authority,] Paul F. Miller, to [Director of Public Works,] George A. Kandra, regarding installation and maintenance of playground equipment at Penn Avenue. October 1, 1966. 1 page.

Memorandum from Director of Public Works, George A. Kandra, to Executive Director of Redevelopment Authority, Paul Miller, regarding recreation equipment at Penn Avenue. September 22, 1966. 1 page.

Memorandum from Director of Public Works, George A. Kandra, to Director of Recreation, Dick Reese, regarding a proposed bathhouse. January 5, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Chairman of the Long Park Commission, Thomas Monaghan, regarding a proposed “Farm-in-the-City” program. [undated.] 1 page.

Report by Lancaster Recreation Commission, “Re-suggested Repairs & Improvements for City Parks and Playgrounds.” Fall 1967. 2 pages.

Letter from Executive Director of Redevelopment Authority, Louis G. Milan, to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding who is responsible for repairing playground equipment on city owned lots. May 1, 1968. 1 page.

Notes regarding repairs made to swings at Tot Lot on Penn Avenue. May 2, 1968. 1 page.

Letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Mayor Thomas Monaghan regarding development of the mall on South Duke Street. May 17, 1968. 1 page.

Letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to President of the Lancaster City Council, Richard Filling, regarding lack of closing hours and regulations of city parks and playgrounds. June 9, 1969. 1 page.

Memorandum from Mayor [Thomas] Monaghan to Department Directors, Bureau Heads, Executive Directors, and Authority Chairman, regarding press relations. August 12, 1969. 1 page.

Letter from Mayor Thomas Monaghan to Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding the naming of parks. October 9, 1969. 1 page.

Letter from to Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Mayor Thomas Monaghan regarding the naming of parks. September 25, 1969. 1 page.

Letter from to Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Director of Finance, C.S. Sharrocks, regarding the approval of the 1969 budget. November 11, 1968. 1 page.

Memorandum from Director of Public Works, Richard B. Nissley, to Mayor [Arthur E.] Morris regarding the Recreation Review Committee. May 29, 1987. 3 pages.

Memorandum with attachments from Mayor Arthur E. Morris to All Members of City Council regarding a review of the Lancaster Recreation Commission. September 26, 1986. 1 page.

Attachment 1 – Letter from Superintendent of the School District of Lancaster, Charles R. Walker, to Mayor Arthur E. Morris, regarding modifications to articles of agreement. September 4, 1986. 1 page

Attachment 2 – Letter from Mayor Arthur E. Morris to Superintendent of the School District of Lancaster, Charles R. Walker, regarding modifications to articles of agreement. September 26, 1986. 2 pages.

Memorandum from Mayor Arthur E. Morris to the Recreation Commission Review Committee regarding members serving on the committee and its first meeting. December 19, 1986. 1 page.

Memorandum from Mayor Arthur E. Morris to the Recreation Commission Review Committee regarding the purpose of the committee. January 5, 1987. 1 page.

Memorandum from Director of Public Works, Richard B. Nissley, to Mayor [Arthur E.] Morris providing an interim report of the Recreation Commission Review Committee. January 29, 1987. 1 page.

Series II, Folder 3 – Recommendations

Letter from Director of the Mercy-Douglas Hospital Neighborhood Youth Corps, Harriet Truman, to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, requesting information regarding Allean Janet Scott. February 22, 1966. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to C.W. Stoddart, Jr., regarding James Corrigan. November 25, 1969. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Director of the Mercy-Douglas Hospital Neighborhood Youth Corps, Harriet Truman, recommending Allean Janet Scott. February 24, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Dean of the College of Wooster, J. Garber Drushal, to Director of Recreation, Albert Reese, requesting information regarding James Hale Gordon. January 18, 1965. 1 page. [Draft of response on the reverse.]

Copy of a letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Dean of the College of Wooster, J. Garber Drushal, recommending James Hale Gordon. February 1, 1965. 1 page.

Form letter from Saint Joseph Hospital Domestic Personnel Director, Florence Smith, to the Lancaster Recreation Association, requesting information regarding Esther King. [Response of Recreation Commission included on bottom of the form.]

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to [unknown] recommending Jay W. Moyer for the P.I.A.A. baseball exam. January 29, 1958. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Supervising Principal of Camp Hill High School, Donald Enders, recommending Charles Jacobs. May 8, 1957. 1 page.

Letter from Lybrand, Ross Bros. & Montgomery to [Director of Recreation,] Albert S. [sic] Reese, requesting information regarding George O. Machlan. November 30, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese to Lybrand, Ross Bros. & Montgomery recommending George Machlan. December 4, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Director of the Clubhouse Program, Thomas H Burress III, recommending Allean Scott. August 21, 1961. 1 page.

Letter from Director of the Clubhouse Program, Thomas H Burress III, to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, requesting information regarding Allean Scott. August 18, 1961. 1 page. [Draft of response on reverse]

Copy of a letter from [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Temple University recommending Charles E. Jacobs. [undated.] 1 page.

Letter from W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service to [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., requesting information regarding Warren T. Lillie. February 9, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service recommending Warren T. Lillie. February 14, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Bryn Mawr Hospital Director of Nurses, Edna W. Scott, R.N., recommending Carol Thomas. September 8 1960. 1 page.

Letter from Bryn Mawr Hospital Director of Nurses, Edna W. Scott, R.N., to [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, requesting information regarding Carol Thomas. August 30, 1960. 1 page. [Draft of response at the bottom of the letter.]

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to P.I.A.A. Executive Director, Mike Funk, recommending George Vengrin. August 19, 1960. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to P.I.A.A. Executive Director, Mike Funk, recommending George Bechtel. October 15, 1956. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to C.M. Shultz recommending James Hess. March 30, 1959. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Pennsylvania Public Department of Welfare Office for Children and Youth Training Advisor, Jean Farquhar, recommending Jane Moseman. March 30, 1959. 1 page.

Letter from Commonwealth of Virginia Department of Welfare and Institutions Personnel Section Supervisor, Isabel S. Eldredge, to [Director of Recreation,] A.E. Reese, requesting information regarding Sarah Lenox Hill. March 17, 1959. 1 page.

Letter from Pennsylvania Public Department of Welfare Office for Children and Youth Training Advisor, Jean Farquhar, to [Director of Recreation,] Richard [sic] Reese, requesting information regarding Jane Moseman. March 23, 1959. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation to University of Pennsylvania Director of Admissions and Placement, Margaret E. Bishop, recommending [Jane] Moseman. December 11, 1958. 1 page.

Letter from University of Pennsylvania School of Social Work Director of Admissions and Placement, Margaret E. Bishop, to [Director of Recreation,] Richard [sic] Reese, requesting information regarding Esther Jane Mosemann. December 1, 1958. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Pennsylvania State University [Department of] Home Economics Education Acting Head, Elizabeth C. Hillier, recommending June Ament. October 2, 1957. 1 page.

Letter from Naval Academy Athletic Association Assistant Director of Athletics, E.E. “Rip” Miller, to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., requesting information regarding Barry Butzer. September 19, 1957. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Allentown State Hospital Director of Social Service, Joshua Epstein, regarding Florence Schaffner. May 18, 1956. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Burl N. Osborn of the Millersville State Teachers College, regarding Bruce Stevenson. December 5, 1955. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Burl N. Osborn of the Millersville State Teachers College, regarding John Workinger. October 26, 1955. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Paul E. Portner, regarding Jane Herr. April 1, 1955. 1 page.

Letter from Paul E. Portner of the Marietta Recreational Committee to the Lancaster Recreation Commission requesting information regarding Jane Herr. March 31, 1955. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Millersville State Teachers College Dean of Instruction, William Duncan, regarding Elizabeth Jenkins. March 15, 1955. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Principal [of Oxford, PA Elementary School], Norman Calhoun, recommending Patricia Patterson. January 13, 1955. 1 page.

Letter from Kings Highway Savings Bank Secretary, Edmund G. Flowers, to the Lancaster Recreation Association requesting information regarding Ruth Taylor nee Hershour. October 13, 1954. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., toHighway Savings Bank Secretary, Edmund G. Flowers, recommending Ruth Taylor. October 15, 1954. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to the Southern Teachers’ Agency regarding Earl Foster. January 15, 1954. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Camp Adventure Director, Wm. V. Dworski, recommending Patricia Ann Keener. April 21, 1953. 1 page.

Letter from Adventure Director, Wm. V. Dworski, to [Director of Recreation,] Grant Brandon, requesting information regarding Patricia Ann Keener. April 20, 1953. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to [unknown], recommending Mrs. Charles E. Kress. February 10, 1953. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to the Pennsylvania Interscholastic Athletic Association Executive Director regarding William Conlin. November 28, 1951. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Muriel W. Hall of the Time, Inc. Personnel Department, recommending Joyce Hackett. August 22, 1951. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to National City Bank of N.Y. Personnel Department Ass’t Cashier, G.W. Bullock, regarding John P. Murphy. July 16, 1951. 1 page.

Letter from National City Bank of N.Y. Personnel Department Ass’t Cashier, G.W. Bullock, to the Lancaster Recreation Association requesting information regarding John P. Murphy. July 12, 1951. 1 page. [Draft of response written on letter]

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to C. Lloyd Bailey of the Friends Committee on National Legislation, recommending Carol Thompson. July 16, 1951. 1 page.

Letter from C. Lloyd Bailey of the Friends Committee on National Legislation to [Director of Recreation], Grant W. Brandon, requesting information regarding Carol Thompson. July 13, 1951. 1 page. [Draft of response on letter.]

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Carol Thompson, allowing her to use the Recreation Association as a reference. July 16, 1951. 1 page.

Letter from Carol Thompson to Director of Recreation Brandon asking is she may use him as a reference. July 14, 1951. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to Hood College Placement Bureau, regarding Carolyn Dunn. March 9, 1951. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to [Camp Thomas E. Lightfoot Director,] V.M. Beckett, recommending Susan Neuhauser. February 15, 1951. 1 page.

Letter from Camp Thomas E. Lightfoot Director, V.M. Beckett, to [Director of Recreation,] G.D. Brandon, requesting information regarding Susan Neuhauser. February 14, 1951. 1 page. [Draft on response on letter.]

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel [Service], regarding J. Louis Gehr. November 20, 1950. 1 page.

Letter from W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, to [Director of Recreation,] G.D. Brandon, requesting information regarding J. Louis Gehr. October 5, 1950. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to [unknown] regarding Sgt. D.E. Shaub. September 19, 1950. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, recommending Robert McCoach. July 10, 1950. 1 page.

Letter from W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, to [Director of Recreation, G.D.] Brandon, requesting information regarding Robert McCoach. May 31, 1950. 1 page. [Notes written on letter]

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, regarding the possible arrangement of an interview for Catherine L. Bassler at the National Recreation Association. June 29, 1950. 1 page.

Letter from Mary B. Gubernat of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, to [Director of Recreation, ] Grant D. Brandon, regarding the possible arrangement of an interview for Catherine L. Bassler at the National Recreation Association. July [sic] 30, 1950. 1 page.

Notes regarding qualifications of Catherine L. Bassler. [undated.] 1 page.

Draft of letter to the Y.W.C.A. of the U.S.A. National Board regarding Catherine L. Bassler. [undated.] 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Mary Coward, recommending Janet F Lyons. May 3, 1950. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, recommending Robert Hilbert Lafferty. November 8, 1949. 1 page.

Letter from W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, to [Director of Recreation,] Grant D. Brandon, requesting information regarding Robert Hilbert Lafferty. November 2, 1949. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, regarding [John J.] Federico. July 28, 1949. 1 page.

Letter from W.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, to [Director of Recreation] Brandon, requesting information regarding John J. Federico. July 27, 1949. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Assistant Director of Recreation toW.C. Sutherland of the National Recreation Association Recreation Personnel Service, regarding William L. Strayer. March 25, 1949. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Camp Wenonah for Girls Executive Assistant, Mrs. S. Somsby, recommending Janet Lyons. March 11, 1949. 1 page.

Letter from Camp Wenonah for Girls Executive Assistant, Ida Somsby, to [Director of Recreation,] Brandon requesting information regarding Janet Lyons. March 10, 1949. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Catholic University of America Auditor, T.E. Rupp, recommending Betty Jane Yashur. February 25, 1949. 1 page.

Letter from Catholic University of America Auditor, T.E. Rupp, to [Director of Recreation,] Grant D. Brandon, requesting information regarding Betty Jane Yashur nee Gorman. February 21, 1949. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Bryant Teachers Bureau, Inc., regarding Amy Martin. May 10, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Y.W.C.A. Camp Director, Lena E. Risser, recommending Doris Leary. April 20, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Amy Martin giving her permission to use him as a reference. April 16, 1948. 1 page.

Letter from Amy Martin to [Director of Recreation,] Brandon asking is she may use him as a reference. April 15, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to P.I.A.A. Secretary, Edmund Wicht, recommending Nelson G. Sneath. February 27, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to Urban L. Monical of the Millersville State Teachers College Industrial Arts Department, regarding the possibility of John Federico receiving course credit for his work with the Recreation Association. February 18, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to the Bryant Teachers [Bureau Inc.] regarding Elizabeth Anne Bassler. January 31, 1948. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Commissioner L. Rains, regarding a position for Benjamin Volk. January 5, 1948. 1 page.

Letter from Boys’ Club of America Program and Personnel Service Director, Walter M. Hall, to Director of Recreation, Grant D. Brandon, thanking him for information regarding William R. Bricker. July 1, 1947. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from [the Director of Recreation] toBoys’ Club of America Program and Personnel Service Director, Walter M. Hall, regarding William R. Bricker. July 1, 1947. 1 page.

Letter from Boys’ Club of America Program and Personnel Service Director, Walter M. Hall, to Director of Recreation, Grant D. Brandon, requesting information regarding William R. Bricker. June 25, 1947. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to the Hood College Placement Bureau recommending Nancy Meminger. March 11, 1946. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to the Bryant Teachers Bureau Inc. regarding Catherine Bassler. February 13, 1946. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, G.D. Brandon, to Margaret E. Bishop, regarding Nancy Neff. June 22, 1945. 1 page.

Letter from American Red Cross Southeastern Pennsylvania Chapter Personnel Director, R.L. Houston, to [Director of Recreation,] Grant Brandon requesting information regarding Nancy Neff. June 8, 1945. 1 page.

Letter from Margaret E. Bislay of the Pennsylvania School of Social Work to [Director of Recreation,] G.D. Brandon requesting information regarding Nancy Louise Neff. June 18, 1945. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Nancy Neff giving her permission to use him as a reference. May 23, 1945. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from the Director of Recreation to Betty H. Anderson of the Columbia University New York School of Social Work regarding Marcia Andrea Bohee. April 13, 1945. 1 page.

Letter from Betty H. Anderson of the Columbia University New York School of Social Work, to [Director of Recreation,] Grant D. Brandon, requesting information regarding Marcia Andrea Bohee. April 10, 1945. 1 page. [Notes are written on the letter.]

 

Series II, Folder 4 – Station Wagon

Memorandum regarding the accepted bid for a 1966 station wagon from Wiggins Chevrolet Co, and a listing of other bid offers. March 11, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Wiggins Chevrolet Co. Fleet Manager, Clair B Gifford, to [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding their bid to furnish a 1970 Chevrolet station wagon. October 15, 1969. 1 page.

Memorandum from Community Recreation Coordinator Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding bid specifications for a 1970 station wagon. [ca. September 1969.] 1 page.

Letter from Wiggins Chevrolet Co. Fleet Manager, Clair B Gifford, to the Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Chevrolet station wagon. February 17, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Wiggins Chevrolet Co. Fleet Manager, Clair B Gifford, to the Recreation Commission regarding their alternate bid to furnish a 1966 Chevrolet Bel Air station wagon. March 2, 1966. 1 page.

Business Card of Joe Rettig, sales representative for Wolf Motor Co.

Letter from Wolf Motor Co. sales representative, Joseph C. Rettig, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Ford Ranch Wagon. February 15, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Wolf Motor Co. sales representative, Joseph C. Rettig, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their revised bid to furnish a 1966 Ford Country Sedan Wagon. March 10, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Mohn Bros. Vice-President, Robert E. Good, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Buick Skylark Sport Wagon. February 28, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Mohn Bros. Vice-President, Robert E. Good, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Buick Special 4-Door V-8 Station Wagon. February 10, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Jones Pontiac Co. Fleet Sales Representative, Norm Christ, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Catalina Station Wagon. February 28 1966. 1 page.

Specifications sheet for a Catalina 3-Seat Station Wagon [ca. 1966.] 1 page.

Specifications sheet for a Catalina 2-Seat Station Wagon [ca. 1966.] 1 page.

Letter from Garden Spot Motor Company salesman, L.M. McCrabb, Jr., to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1966 Ford Ranch Wagon. February 25, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Garden Spot Motor Company salesman, L.M. McCrabb, Jr., to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their alternate bid to furnish a Ford Country Sedan. March 1, 1966. 1 page.

Letter from Garden Spot Motor Company Junior Vice-President, H.H. Haverstick, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1963 Ford Country Sedan station wagon. January 6, 1963. 1 page.

Letter from Wolf Motor Co. sales representative, Joe Rettig, to [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding their bid to furnish a Country Sedan station wagon. January 7, 1963. 1 page.

Letter from Wiggins Chevrolet Co. General Manager, Carl B. Neil, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1963 Chevrolet Biscayne station wagon. January 9, 1963. 1 page.

Letter from A.N. Yancich of the Chrysler Motors Corporation Service Department to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding service performed the commission’s 1960 Plymouth [station wagon]. November 17, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to the Chrysler Corporation Service Department regarding a factory representative coming to discuss repairs made to the commission’s 1960 [Plymouth] station wagon. November 3, 1961. 1 page.

Letter from Chrysler Motors Corporation Director of Service, George J. Cutler, to Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding the forwarding of Mr. Reese’s letter to a regional office. November 13, 1961. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to A.N. Yancich of the Chrysler Motors Corporation Service Department regarding a service representative discussing repairs of the commission’s 1960 Plymouth [station wagon]. November 21, 1961. 1 page.

Letter from Lancaster County Community Chest Executive Director, Kenneth C. Shelley, to Lancaster Recreation Commission Executive Director, Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding the Community Chest’s approval of the purchase of a station wagon. January 27, 1960. 1 page.

Copy of a letter from Director of Recreation, Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Community Chest Executive Director, Kenneth Shelly, regarding the bids submitted for the purchase of a new station wagon. January 8, 1960. 1 page.

Letter from Eshelman Motor Co. Inc. President Frank B. Eshelman, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a Deluxe Suburban. January 5, 1960. 1 page.

Letter from Garden Spot Motor Co. Sales Manager, E.L. Spangler, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 4-door station wagon. January 4, 1960. 1 page.

Letter from Wiggins Chevrolet Co. New Car Manager, Joe Monahan, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1960 Chevrolet station wagon. January 5, 1960. 1 page.

Letter from Brubaker Motors, Inc. President, G.G. Durkota, to the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding their bid to furnish a 1960 Plymouth Deluxe Suburban. January 6, 1960. 1 page.

Letter from E.S. Fuss [?] of J. Herbert Fehl, Inc. to [Director of Recreation,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding overpayment of garage fees. [November 19, 1956.] 1 page.


Series II, Folder 5 - Leisure Time for assurance of a fuller life

Pamphlet – “Leisure Time for assurance of a fuller life” published by the Equitable Life Assurance Society of the United States, © 1957.

 

Series II, Folder 6 - Continuing projects of the Lancaster Recreation Commission

Index – “Continuing projects of the Lancaster Recreation Commission as taken from the minutes thereof thru [sic] Feb. 1975,” 1963-1975. 34 cards.

Series II, Sub-Series – Reports

Folder 7 – Annual Reports

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1935

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1936

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1937

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1938

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1939

Series II, Folder 8 – Annual Reports

Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association Annual Report, 1940

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1941

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1943. 12 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1944. 18 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1945. 20 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1946

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1947

Lancaster Recreation Association and the Crispus Attucks Recreation Center Annual Report, 1948

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1949

Series II, Folder 9 – Annual Reports

Lancaster Recreation Association [Annual Report], 1950

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1951. 10 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1952

Lancaster Recreation Association Annual Report, 1953. 11 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Playground Program [Report], 1954. 18 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Playground Program [Report], 1955. 15 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Association Playground Program [Report], 1956. 21 pages.

Note regarding scanning of annual reports, [undated.] 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Association Playground Program [Report], 1957. 15 pages.

 

Series II, Folder 10 – Summer Playground Reports

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1961. 15 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1962. 13 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1965. 20 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1966. 24 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1967. 25 pages.

 

Series II, Folder 11 – Summer Playground Reports

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1968. 24 pages.

1969 Summer Playground Report. 22 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Playground Report, 1970. 19 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1972. 21 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1973. 11 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Activity Report, May 1974. 9 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission 1974 Summer Report. 10 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1975. 10 pieces.

 

Series II, Folder 12 – Summer/Winter Reports

Lancaster Recreation Commission, The Summer of 1976. 8 pieces.

1978 Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report on Leisure Activities to the Lancaster Community. 10 pieces.

1979 Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report on Leisure Activities to the Lancaster Community. 8 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Winter Report, 1979-1980. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Activities Report, 1980. [annotated] 8 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Activities Report, 1981. 13 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Activities Report, 1982. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Winter Report, 1982-1983. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1983. 12 pieces. [draft]

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1983. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1983. 6 pieces, [annotated].

Lancaster Recreation Commission Winter Report, 1983-1984. 7 pieces, [annotated].

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1984. 6 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Winter Report, 1984-1985. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1985. 6 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Report, 1986. 6 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Winter Report, 1986-1987. 7 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Summer Activities Report, 1987. 5 pieces.

 

Series II, Folder 13 – Reports of Examination on Lancaster Recreation Commission

Ralph E. Stine and Company, Certified Public Accountants. “Report of Examination on Lancaster Recreation Commission.” November 30, 1960. 5 pages.

Ralph E. Stine and Company, Certified Public Accountants. “Report of Examination on Lancaster Recreation Commission Crispus Attucks Recreation Center.” November 30, 1960. 4 pages.

 

Series II, Folder 14 – Reports to State and National Recreation Associations

Form – National Recreation Association, “Recreation and Park Yearbook for 1960.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

Form – [From Unknown Organization] December 1956. [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 1 page.

Form – National Recreation Association, “Fiftieth Anniversary Edition, Recreation and Park Yearbook for 1955.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 6 pages, 1 piece.

Form – National Recreation Association, “Community Recreation Year Book for 1950.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

Form – National Recreation Association, “The Recreation Year Book for 1948.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

Letter from Wilmington Parks Department Director of Recreation, W. Frank Nervlin to [Direction of Recreation, Grant D.] Brandon, regarding completion of a questionnaire for a conference survey. March 10, 1948, 1 page.

Form letter from Pennsylvania State College School of Physical Education and Athletics Associate Professor in Charge of the Curriculum of Recreation, Fred M. Coombs regarding participation in a survey. June 18, 1947, 1 page.

Form – From Fred M. Coombs, “Survey of Public Recreation in Pennsylvania,” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] July 8, 1947. 2 pages, 1 piece.

Form – National Recreation Association, Report form for the Recreation Yearbook [ . . . ] for 1946. [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

Form – [Unknown organization], Questionnaire on qualifications for Recreation Positions. [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 1 page. [undated]

From – National Recreation Association, “Summary Report Form for the Recreation Year Book for 1944.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 2 pages, 1 piece.

From – National Recreation Association, “Report Form for the Recreation Year Book [ . . . ] for 1942.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

From – National Recreation Association, “Report Form for the Recreation Year Book [ . . . ] for 1941.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

From – National Recreation Association, “Report Form for the Recreation Year Book [ . . . ] for 1940.” [Information regarding Lancaster Recreation Commission entered accordingly.] 4 pages, 1 piece.

 

Series II, Folder 15 – Reports to and Bulletins From the National Youth Administration

Pamphlet - “The National Youth Administration Program in Pennsylvania,” [undated.]

Pamphlet – American Youth Commission and the American Council on Education, “A Program of Action for American Youth.” [ca. 1939]

Report by County Supervisor, E.W. Ford, to the Lancaster County NYA Advisory Committee. September, 26, 1939. 2 pages.

NYA County Supervisor, E.W. Ford, “Report of the National Youth Administration for Lancaster County from April 15 to May 20.” May 19, 1936. 3 pages.

National Recreation Association, Bulletin #3369, “A National Youth Program.” May 1935. 2 pages.

Form Letter from the National Youth Administration Assistant State Director, C.H. English, regarding the employment if youth. December 9, 1935. 2 pages.

Blank Form – NYA From 5, “Works Progress Administration, Work Project Application of National Youth Administration for NYA Federal Projects.” [undated.] 2 pages.

Letter from Aubrey Williams, Acting Administrator of [Unknown Organization], regarding nationwide programs. [undated.] 2 pages.

Bulletin No. 2 from National Youth Administration Assistant Regional Director of the Federal Theatre Project, Helen Schoeni, “National Youth Administration for Pennsylvania, Federal Theatre Project.” 3 pages.

 

Series II, Folder 16 – Objectives of the Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association

Memorandum for the Welfare Federation, detailing the Objectives of the Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association. October 2, 1939. 2 pages.

Series II, Folder 17 – Governing Documents

“An Ordinance Establishing and Creating a Recreation Board in the City of Lancaster and Defining Powers and Duties Thereof. Presented by the Lancaster Recreation and Playground Association, February 4, 1920.” 1 page.

Table of contents of records pre-1972 once contained in a binder of governing documents, commonly known as the “Board Book.” 1page.

Agreement between the City of Lancaster and the Sixth Ward Memorial Park Association regarding funds raised to erect a World War I monument in said park. May 13, 1941. 1 page.

Articles of Incorporation of the Lancaster Recreation Association. September 19, 1941. 2 pages.

Transcription of Articles of Incorporation of the Lancaster Recreation Association. September 19, 1941. 5 pages.

Amended Articles of Incorporation of the Lancaster Recreation Association. January 23, 1950. 3 pieces.

By-Laws of Lancaster Recreation Association. 2 pages.

Page 1 of By- Laws of Lancaster Recreation Association. 1 page

Pages 2 and 3 of Articles of Incorporation of the Lancaster Recreation Association. September 19, 1941. 2 pages.

Agreement between School District of Lancaster, PA and Lancaster Recreation Association regarding use of the rifle range at Lafayette School. February 1957. 3 pages.

Copy of Memorandum from S.B. Smith, Jr. entitled, “Tentative Plans for Recreation.” [undated.] 1 page.

Members of Lancaster Recreation Association Board of Directors, 1959-1960. 1 page. [Duplicate in Folder 21.]

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Department of Public Instruction, “A Guide in the Organization and Administration of Extension Recreation Programs.” February 1, 1960. 4 pieces.

Draft of Agreement of Cooperation between the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City School District, the Community Chest, and the Lancaster Recreation Association regarding the joint operation of the City’s recreation program. May 11, 1960. 4 pages.

Copy of “An Ordinance creating a Recreation Commission for the City of Lancaster setting forth the responsibilities and authority of said Commission and providing for the appointment of members to the Commission.” Session 1960, No. 16-1960, Introduced by Mr. Brown, October 25, 1960, Adopted as amended, November 22, 1960. 3 pages.

Agreement of Cooperation between the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City School District, the Community Chest, and the Lancaster Recreation Association regarding the joint operation of the City’s recreation program. December 20, 1960. 7 pieces.

Transcription of Agreement of Cooperation between the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City School District, the Community Chest, and the Lancaster Recreation Association regarding the joint operation of the City’s recreation program. December 20, 1960. 6 pages.

Transcription of By-Laws of Lancaster Recreation Commission. [1960]. 4 pages.

Annotated By-Laws of Lancaster Recreation Commission. [1960], 4 pages.

Decree of Dissolution of the Lancaster Recreation Association, June 15, 1962, in the Court of Common Pleas of Lancaster County, Charter Book No, 3, Page 98. 2 pages.

Constitution and Bylaws of the Crispus Attucks Community Ass’n, Lancaster, Penna. Official Copy adopted April 18, 1963, with noted changes. 4 pages.

The General Assembly of Pennsylvania, House Bill No. 490, Session of 1965. “An Act amending the act of June 23, 1931 (P.L. 932) entitled ‘An act relating to cities of the third class; and amending, revising, and consolidating the law relating thereto,’ further providing for the composition of the recreation board and authorizing the appointment of members to the school district recreation board.” 1 page.

Copy of Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Board Meeting. August 6, 1964. 2 pages.

Copy of Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Board Meeting. September 17, 1964. 1 page.

Copy of Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Board Meeting. October 15, 1964. 1 page.

Letter from Edward L. Schwar, Supervisor of Planning and Engineering, regarding the costs of building Higbee Playground. July 13, 1966. 1 page.

Transcription of Ordinance No. 6-1967, “An Ordinance to amend Ordinance No. 16-1960, adopted by Council November 22, 1960, creating a Recreation Commission, by increasing the numbers of members of the Commission and providing for their appointment thereto.” Sponsored by Mr. Beck. Adopted by Council, January 10, 1967. 1 page.

Copy of letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr. regarding the endorsement of funds to improve Reservoir Park and the need for a cooperative program between city agencies to conduct planning of recreation areas. February 6, 1967. 1 page.

Chester County Park and Recreation Board By-Laws, as amended December 6, 1967. 4 pages.

Copy of “Sample Constitution and By-Laws” [for a Recreation and Park Board, from unknown publication, undated.] 5 pages.

“Amendment to an Agreement Between the School District of Lancaster, the City of Lancaster, and the Lancaster Recreation Commission Entered into on the 9th Day of February, 1967,” regarding administration of the Grant D. Brandon Park and the adjacent John W. Price Elementary School. 1 page.

Page 1 of draft of “Supplemental Agreement to amend the Agreement of Cooperation dated December 20, 1960, between the City of Lancaster, School District of Lancaster, Community Chest, and Lancaster Recreation Association.” [February 1967.] 1 page.

Annotated draft of agreement between the School District of Lancaster, PA and City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding the administration of the recreation program and facilities, 5 pages. [February 1967.]

Copy of agreement between the School District of Lancaster, PA and City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding the administration of the recreation program and facilities. March 9, 1967. 6 pieces.

Transcription of agreement between the School District of Lancaster, PA and City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding the administration of the recreation program and facilities. March 9, 1967. 3 pages.

Supplemental agreement between the School District of Lancaster, PA and City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding amendment of the agreement between the above parties dated December 20, 1960. March 9, 1967. 4 pieces.

Transcription of the Supplemental agreement between the School District of Lancaster, PA and City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding amendment of the agreement between the above parties dated December 20, 1960. March 9, 1967. 2 pages.

Resolution of the Lancaster Recreation Commission to transfer funds held on behalf of the Crispus Attucks Center to the Board of Trusts and Charities. April 28, 1967. 1 page.

Exhibit “A,” Financial Report of the Crispus Attucks Center special account enclosed in resolution. April 1, 1967. 1 page.

Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Committee Special Meeting. April 28, 1967. 1 page.

Agreement to Amend Agreement dated March 9, 1967 between the School District of Lancaster, City of Lancaster, and Lancaster Recreation Commission. August 18, 1967. 3 pieces.

Copy of memorandum regarding minority involvement in recreation programs. April 1968. 1 page.

Minutes – Meeting between City Council, School Board, and Recreation Commission. September 4, 1968. 2 pages.

Letter to Steve Heineman [from Director of Recreation Albert E. Reese, Jr.] regarding revision of the agreement of cooperation. [undated.] 1 page.

Copy of letter to Steve Heineman [from Director of Recreation Albert E. Reese, Jr.] regarding revision of Agreement of Cooperation to have professional staff under the direction of the School District. [undated ] 1 page.

Copy of draft of Agreement of Cooperation between City of Lancaster, School District of Lancaster, and Community Chest. December 18, 1968. 5 pages.

Copy of “Negotiations agreement between representative of the Lancaster Education Association and Representative of the Lancaster Board of School Directors.” April 8, 1969. 2 pages.

Transcription of Bill No. 34-1969, “An Ordinance fixing a closing time for all public parks and playgrounds in the City of Lancaster, with certain exceptions, and providing penalties for the violation thereof.” Introduced by Mr. Rhinier, July 22, 1969, Adopted by Council August 5, 1969 as Ordinance No. 36-1969. 2 pages.

“Direct (or) News” Issue #3 (69-70) regarding revision of Agreement of Cooperation to have professional staff under the direction of the School District. From the Desk of the Superintendent, Don S. Glass. August 8, 1969. 2 pages.

Copy of draft of Agreement of Cooperation between City of Lancaster, School District of Lancaster, and Community Chest. August 7, 1969. 6 pages. [Enclosed with above memorandum.]

Copy of letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr. to Recreation Commission members, regarding revision of Agreement of Cooperation to have professional staff under the direction of the School District. August 13, 1969. 1 page.

Draft of Agreement of Cooperation between City of Lancaster, School District of Lancaster, and Community Chest. October 21, 1969. 6 pages.

Copy of “Conestoga Pines Agreement” between the City of Lancaster and the Optimist Club of Lancaster. May 25, 1971. 4 pages.

Transcription of “Conestoga Pines Agreement” between the City of Lancaster and the Optimist Club of Lancaster. May 25, 1971. 3 pages.

 

Box 6

Series II, Folder 18 – Governing Documents

Table of contents of records from 1972 once contained in a binder of governing documents, commonly known as the “Board Book.” 1page.

Copy of letter from Mayor [Thomas J.] Monaghan to [Director of Recreation], Dick Reese regarding Notes from January 4, 1972 [council?] meeting. [undated.] 1 page.

“An Ordinance regulating the use of parks, playgrounds, recreation centers, swimming pools, watershed and other recreation areas owns or operated by the City of Lancaster prescribing the powers and duties of the City and certain officers and employees with regard thereto, and fixing penalties,” Session 1972, No. 12-1972, Introduced by Mr. Rhinier, April 24, 1972, Adopted by Council, May 23, 1972. 1 piece.

Report of School Board Finance Committee, regarding item level review of budget and resulting recommendations. August 1972. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Personnel Practices. October 1972. 3 pages.

Resolution passed by Lancaster Recreation Commission, regarding a change in current policy as to use of school facilities for recreation purposes. December 1972. 1 page.

Copy of letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Dick Reese, to Members of Recreation Commission regarding 1973 Appropriation from City of Lancaster. December 1972. 1 page. [2 copies.]

Copy of letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr.,] to Members of Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding use of school facilities for adult recreation programs. December 1972. 2 pages.

Copy of letter from Community Recreation Coordinator Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Lancaster School District Business Manager, Sam B. Smith, Jr., regarding use of school facilities for general recreation purposes. December 18, 1972. 1 page.

Letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., and staff to Summer Recreation Commission Employees regarding the elimination of the Playground of the Year Award for the summer of 1972. 1 page.

Series II, Folder 19 – Governing Documents

Table of contents of records from 1973 once contained in a binder of governing documents, commonly known as the “Board Book.” 1page.

Organizational Chart for Lancaster Recreation Commission. April 5, 1973. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Original Budget Request. [FY 1973.] 1 page.

Copy of letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Dick Reese to Members of Recreation Commission regarding items to be considered and discussed at meeting on July 20, 1973. 1 piece.

Memorandum regarding the “History of the establishment of Recreation Commission Staff Salaries as recorded in the Official Minutes of the Commission Meetings.” September 4, 1973. 1 page.

Copy of letter from Taylor T. Lowry and [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Albert E. Reese to [Superintendent,] Dr. Don Glass, regarding administrative procedures and cost factors involved in school rentals. September 14, 1973. 1 page.

Series II, Folder 20 – Governing Documents

Table of contents of records from 1974 once contained in a binder of governing documents, commonly known as the “Board Book.” 1page.

Letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Dick Reese to Mayor and Members of City Council, Superintendent of Schools and School Board Members, and Members of Recreation Commission and Staff, regarding the possible effects of the energy crisis on the recreation program. January 7, 1974. 1 page.

Letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Dick Reese to Recreation Commission Members, regarding some items to be considered at Recreation Commission Meeting on January 25, 1974. 1 page.

Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Finance Committee Meeting. July 26, 1974. 1 page.

Optimist Youth Barn Regulations. December 1974. 2 pages.

Memorandum regarding the “History of the establishment of Recreation Commission Staff Salaries as recorded in the Official Minutes of the Commission Meetings.” Prepared in 1974. 1 page.

Letter from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Members of Recreation Commission, regarding concerns about General Recreation Program. 1974. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Source of Income Spreadsheet, 1958-1974. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Source of Income Spreadsheet, 1958-1973. 1page. [annotated]

Community School Act, “P.L. 93-380 The Educations Amendments of 1974 became law on August 21, 1974 [ . . . ] As one part of this act, we now have Title IV, Section 405 or the Community Schools Act. Following is the exact wording of the act.” 3 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Policy Statement for Sponsored of Co-Sponsored Programs. 1975. 1 page.

Report of Special Committee to Review Fees and Charges of the Lancaster Recreation Commission. 1975. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission, Fees for Special Programs. [undated.] 1 page.

“Suggest Format for Signing Parks & Recreation Areas” [undated.] 1 page.

Series II, Folder 21 – Governing Documents

“Contract between School District of Lancaster and the Lancaster Recreation Commission,” relating to the Food Service Department providing package meals for the Happy Hours Club. February 12, 1975. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Policy Statement for Sponsored or Co-sponsored programs. 1975. 1 page. [2 copies.]

Table of contents of records from 1975 once contained in a binder of governing documents, commonly known as the “Board Book.” 1page.

Copy of letter from Albert E. Reese, Jr., to Chief Community Planner, Robert S. Yates, regarding the First Year Plan for Housing and Community Development. March 20, 1975. 1 page.

Copy of Purchase Order Procedure. January 16, 1975. 1 page. [draft]

Copy of Purchase Order Procedure. January 16, 1975. 1 page. [2 copies.]

Copy of memorandum from [Community Recreation Coordinator,] A.E. Reese, Jr., to Leagues and Teams using lighted facilities at Conlin Field and Davey Arnold Field, regarding the revised user fee schedule. [undated]. 1 page.

Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Special Meeting. January 30, 1975. 2 pages.

Copy of letter from the Senior Citizen Advisory Committee and Staff of the Senior Citizen’s Service Club (Happy Hours Branch) to Director of Planning, Jack Canan, regarding community development funds. February 6, 1975. 2 pages.

Proposal for Grant to Provide Comprehensive Services for Senior Citizens. [circa 1975] 7 pages.

Copy of “Lancaster Recreation Commission approved 1975 proposed budget request as submitted to City of Lancaster and School District of Lancaster in October 1974.” March 10, 1975. 1 page.

Copy of letter from the City of Lancaster to [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding electrical and gas service fees. March 10, 1975. 1 page. [Page 2 missing?]

Copy of letter from Director of Public Works, Arthur E. Morris, to [Community Recreation Coordinator,] Albert E. Reese, Jr., regarding utility costs at Davey Arnold and Conlin Fields. March 20, 1975. 1 page.

Report of meeting with baseball coaches and league representatives. March 19, 1975. 1 page.

Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Meeting. March 21, 1975. 2 pages.

Copy of letter from Planning Director, John R. Ahlfeld, to Chief Planner, Jack M. Canan, regarding the Proposed Application for 1975 Lancaster City Community Development funds. March 27, 1975. 1 page.

Minutes – Lancaster Recreation Commission Recessed Meeting. April 18, 1975. 3 pages.

Copy of letter from Chief Planner, Jack M. Canan, to Planning Director, John R. Ahlfeld, regarding the City of Lancaster’s Housing and Community Development Application. April 2, 1975. 3 pages.

Memorandum from A.E. Reese, Jr. to All full and part-time office staff regarding the daily schedule. June 20, 1975. [annotated January 12, 1976.] 1 page.

“Explanation of sale of tickets for bus trips.” July 1975. 1 page.

Copy of memorandum from A.E. Reese to all staff regarding work schedules. October 30, 1975. 1 page.

Copy of memorandum from Senior Citizen Director, Donald W. Erb, to Executive Committee Members and Happy Hours Club Branch Center Directors, regarding the performance policy of the Melo-Dears. October 21, 1975. 1 page.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Proposed Budget [with attachments]. 1975. 11 pages.

Optimist Club of Lancaster [Blank]Table Rental Contract. [undated.] 2 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission [Blank] Bleacher Rental Contract. [undated.] 2 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Staff Assignments. [undated.] 9 pages.

Lancaster Recreation Commission. Employment as Playground Leader. [undated.] 1 page. [2 copies]

Memorandum from A.E. Reese to all staff regarding use of radio communication equipment. December 8, 1975. 1 page.

Memorandum to all staff regarding vacation and time off. [undated.] 1 page.

Copy of memorandum from A.E. Reese to All Lancaster Recreation Commission Full-Time Staff regarding vacations. January 12, 1976. 1 page. [2 copies.]

[Blank] School District of Lancaster Rental Contract. [undated.] 1 page.

Letter from Community Recreation Coordinator, Albert E. Reese, Jr. to P.T.A. and P.T.O. Presidents or Program Chairman regarding recreation employees conducting programs at P.T.A. and P.T.O. meetings. March 31, 1975. 1 page.

Memorandum from A.E. Reese, Jr. to Full-time Lancaster Recreation Commission Staff regarding personnel policies and procedures. January 20, 1976. 1 page. [2 copies]

Memorandum from A.E. Reese, Jr. to All full and part-staff regarding the daily schedule. June 20, 1975. Revised January 12, 1976. 1 page. [2 copies.]

Custodial and Maintenance Hours and General Responsibilities. Effective October 4, 1976. 1 page. [draft]

Copy of Custodial and Maintenance Hours and General Responsibilities. Effective October 4, 1976. 1 page.

Copy of list of Members of Lancaster Recreation Association Board of Directors, 1959-1960. 1 page. [Duplicate in Folder 17.]

Copy of agreement between J. Paul and Bertha R. Witwer and the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding construction of a rifle range. May 1977. 3 pages. [Original in Folder 22.]

Report to School Board concerning the proposed revision of the present existing agreements relating to the Lancaster Recreation Commission. February 26, 1976. 3 pieces.

Lancaster Recreation Commission Committee Assignments. 1976. 1page.

Series II, Folder 22 – Governing Documents

School District of Lancaster. Possible Changes for Articles of Agreement Governing Recreation Commission. January 8, 1977. 1 pages. [2 copies.]

School District of Lancaster. Suggested Changes to the Articles of Agreement as a Result of the Board Committee Meeting held on Friday, February 4, 1977. 1 page. [2 copies.] [Originally attached to “Possible changes . . . “ dated January 8, 1977.]

Agreement between J. Paul Witwer and the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding construction of a rifle range. May 1977. 3 pages.

Agreement between J. Paul and Bertha R. Witwer and the Lancaster Recreation Commission regarding construction and use of a rifle range. May 1963. 3 pages. [Attached to above agreement.]

Memorandum from A.E.R. to Staff regarding a review of the organizational chart and program assignments. May 10, 1977. 1 page.

Copy of Organizational Chart for Lancaster Recreation Commission. April 5, 1973. 1 page. [Originally attached to above memorandum dated May 10, 1977.]

Memo from School District of Lancaster Superintendent, Charles L. Walker, to Members of the Lancaster School Board, City Council, and Recreation Commission, regarding the purpose of a meeting held on May 19, 1977. May 19, 1977. 1 page.

School District of Lancaster. Possible Changes for Articles of Agreement Governing Recreation Commission. January 8, 1977. 1 page. [Originally attached to above memorandum dated May 19, 1977.]

School District of Lancaster. Suggested Changes to the Articles of Agreement as a Result of the Board Committee Meeting held on Friday, February 4, 1977. 1 page. [Originally attached to above memorandum dated May 19, 1977.]

Notes – [Unknown author.] Agreement Thoughts. July 12, 1977. 1 page.

Memorandum from A.E.R. to All Professional Staff regarding staff meetings. September 6, 1977. 1 page.

Copy of letter from Mayor Richard M. Scott to Superintendent, Dr. Charles “Bud” R. Walker, regarding possible changes to the Articles of Agreement. September 15, 1977. 3 pages.

Memorandum from A.E. Reese, Jr. to All Staff regarding Telephone [Use]. July 8, 1977 (Initial Notice), November 4, 1977 (Reminder Notice). 1 page.

Letter from Lancaster General Hospital Associate Director of Personnel, Education, and Training, Joseph J. Gallagher, to All agencies that provide observational experiences for students from the Lancaster General Hospital School of Nursing, regarding a Letter of Agreement. November 10, 1977. 1 page.

Copy of Letter of Agreement between Lancaster General Hospital and Camp Sunshine regarding observational experiences at the Lancaster General Hospital School of Nursing. November 14, 1977. 1 page. [Originally attached to Joseph Gallagher letter dated November 10, 1977.]

Lancaster Recreation Commission. Goals for 1978, Review of 1977 Goals. February 1, 1978. 2 pages.

Memorandum from A.E.R. to All Staff regarding Parking Lot Privileges. April 19, 1978. 1 page.

Memo from School District of Lancaster Superintendent, Charles L. Walker, to All Board Members regarding a meeting scheduled for June 29, 1978 with City Council to discuss the recreation program. June 26, 1978. 1 page.

Notes enclosed with Memo dated June 26, 1978 regarding the School District of Lancaster’s involvement with the Recreation Commission. June 27, 1978. 1 page.

Statistics enclosed with Memo dated June 26, 1978 regarding the School District of Lancaster’s involvement with the Recreation Commission. 1970-1977. 1 page.

Memo from School District of Lancaster Superintendent, Charles R. Walker, to All Board Members regarding a meeting scheduled for July 27, 1978 with City Council to discuss the recreation program. July 24, 1978. 1 page.

Memo enclosed with above Memo dated July 24, 1978, from [School District of Lancaster Superintendent, Charles R. Walker,] to All Board Members regarding Estimated Inkind [sic] Cost for Recreation Programs. July 24, 1978. 2 pages.

Letter from Mayor Wohlson to Members of City Council regarding a Revised Agreement of Cooperation between the City of Lancaster and the School District of Lancaster for the operation of the Lancaster Recreation Commission. September 20, 1979. 1 page.

[Proposed Changes to Agreement of Cooperation.] November 12, 1979. 1 page.

Joint Statement by the School District of Lancaster Board of School Directors and the City Council Members for the City of Lancaster, Pennsylvania regarding Proposed Changes for the Articles of Agreement Governing the Operation of the Recreation Commission. November 21, 1978. 1 page.

File of the Council of the City of Lancaster, PA. Session 1979. No. 25-1979. Introduced by Mr. Lefever, October 23, 1979. Ordinance No. 22-1979. Adopted by Council, November 13, 1979. “An Ordinance to amend Part One – Administrative Code, Title Five, Article 155 – Recreation Commission, Section 155.01 – Establishment; Term, Section 155.02 – Duties, Section 155.03 – Powers, and Section 155.05 – Employees; Reports, and to Delete Section 155.06 – Budget, and Section 155.08 - Reports.” 1 piece.

Transcription of above Bill No. 25-1979. Introduced by Mr. Lefever, October 23, 1979. Ordinance No. 22-1979. Adopted by Council, November 13, 1979. “An Ordinance to amend Part One – Administrative Code, Title Five, Article 155 – Recreation Commission, Section 155.01 – Establishment; Term, Section 155.02 – Duties, Section 155.03 – Powers, and Section 155.05 – Employees; Reports, and to Delete Section 155.06 – Budget, and Section 155.08 0 Reports.” 2 pages.

Transcription of Resolution No. 40-1979. Introduced by Mr. Lefever, November 13, 1979. Adopted by Council, November 13, 1979. Authorizing Mayor to act on behalf of the City to enter into agreements with the School District of Lancaster relative to the Recreation Commission. 1 page.

Copy of transcription of agreement between the City of Lancaster and the School District of Lancaster regarding the establishment of the Lancaster Recreation Commission. November 13, 1979. 4 pieces.

Lease between the City of Lancaster and the Optimist Club of Lancaster regarding the Optimist Youth Barn, beginning in 1980 and ending in 2005. [circa 1980.] 8 pages.

Exhibit “A” of above lease agreement. “Rules Governing Use of the Optimist Youth Barn.” [undated.] 1 page.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Lancaster Freedom Train Committee Records, 1947-1949 Print Email
March 10, 2015

Call Number: MG-706

1 box     26 folders     .25 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Lancaster, Pa.)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains documents pertaining to the planning and preparation for the Freedom Train visit to Lancaster, as well as the corresponding Rededication Week celebration. These documents include press releases from The American Heritage Foundation describing the Freedom Train project, correspondence between The American Heritage Foundation and members of the Lancaster Freedom Train Committee discussing the Committee’s plans for the celebration and their fundraising efforts. There is also correspondence between the Mayor of Lancaster- Dale E. Cary, and John W. Beyer discussing the formation of the Freedom Train Committee, the monetary contributions of the public, and the roles different organizations were taking in the Rededication Week celebration. The collection also includes a list of the Lancaster Freedom Train Committee members, materials regarding the formation of the committee, and various form letters sent to businesses thanking them for their contribution to the celebration. There are also a number of publications in this collection, including information for the media and local churches, a large booklet detailing the goals and origins of The American Heritage Foundation, as well as a complete list of the cities the Freedom Train would be stopping in and the various railroads it would be using during its journey.

Creator: Beyer, John W. (1914-1990)

Biographical and Historical Information:

The Lancaster Freedom Train Committee was assembled in 1948 to plan the Rededication Week celebration in Lancaster, Pennsylvania, and prepare for the Freedom Train’s arrival. The Committee was made up of 19 individuals who were responsible for fundraising, planning events and programs for the celebration, and working with community to make sure the visit went according to the plans of The American Heritage Foundation. John W. Beyer served as General Chairman of the committee, and the Mayor of Lancaster, Dale E. Cary, served as Honorary Chairman.

John W. Beyer was born on September 19, 1914 in Palmyra, Lebanon County, Pennsylvania, to Caroline and Robert Beyer. He graduated from Upper Leacock Township High School in 1932, and then attended Franklin and Marshall College. After graduating 1936, Beyer attended the University of Pennsylvania, and received his law degree in 1939. Beyer began practicing law in 1940 as a partner in the law offices of Arnold, Beyer & Homsher. Beyer served in the Lancaster County District Attorney’s office from 1943 to 1953, when he resigned from the position. Beyer served on many committees and was involved in multiple civic organizations including the Lancaster Aero Club, the Lancaster Exchange Club, and the Lancaster Symphony Orchestra. He died August, 14, 1990.

Dr. Dale E. Cary was born December 26, 1880 in Waynesburg, Greene County, Pennsylvania, to Elizabeth and Marcena Cary. He attended school in the Waynesburg County public school system, and later attended Waynesburg College. Cary spent three years teaching, and two years as assistant principal in the Brownsville Public School system before deciding to attend medical school at Jefferson Medical College. In 1911 Cary came to Lancaster, where he served a one-year internship at Lancaster General Hospital. He later started a private practice, and became one of two physicians serving the Lancaster City Schools. In 1941 Cary became Lancaster General’s Medical Director, a position he held until 1945. Cary served three terms as Mayor of Lancaster, holding office from 1938-1950. He died on May 19, 1958, and is buried in Greenwood Cemetery.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Gift of Bill Beyer, November 29, 2013

Related Materials: www.freedomtrain.org

www.lincoln-highway-museum.org

Subject Headings:

Freedom Train

American Heritage Foundation

Cary, Dale E. (1880-1958)

Beyer, John W. (1914-1990)

Lancaster (Pa.)

Business records

 

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by RA, January-March 2015.

 

 

Box 1

Folder 1 “Documents and Memorabilia of the American Heritage Carried on the Freedom Train”. List and description of items and name of lender for each. (28 Pages) No Date

Press Release. “Freedom Train Documents Expanded to 128: 30 Additional Documents and Famous Battle Flags Added” From Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation. (3 Pages) 16 September 1947

Envelope. Addressed to Mr. Richard Lowell at Lancaster Jr. Chamber of Commerce. Return address American Heritage Foundation, Room 408 1501 Broadway, New York 18, N.Y. No Date

Folder 2 “The American Heritage Program for your Community”. This community program book offers many suggestions to assist each local committee in planning a Week of Rededication. June 1948

Folder 3 “Sermon Notes”. Religious foundations of our American heritage. Prepared for the American Heritage Foundation by The Reader’s Digest Program Service, Pleasantville, New York. No Date

Folder 4

Insert 1 Suggested plan for mayor’s committee organizational chart. (2 Copies) No Date

Insert 2 Freedom Train master control sheet. Week 56 of tour, train director W.H.S. O’Brien. (2 Pages) 5-11 October 1948

Insert 3 Freedom Train committee manual. No Date

 

Folder 5 “Conference at the White House”. For the purpose of organizing the American Heritage Program and Inaugurating the Freedom Train. Sponsored by the Attorney General of the United States. 22 May 1947

Folder 6 “Information for motion picture exhibitors on The American Heritage Program” and “Information for press, and radio on The American Heritage Program”. No Date

Folder 7 “Slant your Display the Freedom Train Way”. Order form for Freedom Train display reproductions. No Date

Folder 8 Rededication Week proclamation template. (2 Copies) No Date

Folder 9 Description of Freedom Train concept, construction, operation, and exhibit holdings. (11 Pages) No Date

Folder 10 Approved schedule for Freedom Train. Part IV, covers period of Freedom Train Tour from June 29, 1948 to October 16, 1948. (2 Copies, 4 Pages Each) 15 April 1948

Folder 11 “First Six Months of the Freedom Train: A report of the American Heritage Foundation at the half-way mark of the National Rededication Program”. Published by The American Heritage Foundation, 17 East Forty-fifth Street, New York 17, N.Y. No Date

Folder 12 Memorandum “Information Regarding Financing of the American Heritage Program and Tour of the Freedom Train”. (3 Pages) No Date

Folder 13 “New York Times” article discussing the intentions of the American Heritage Foundation. 21 June 1947

 

Folder 14

Insert 1 Letter from J. Edward Shugrue Director, American Heritage Foundation, to Richard J. Lowell, Sr. Lancaster Junior Chamber of Commerce regarding scheduled stop in Lancaster. 11 July 1947

Insert 2 Letter from William T. Faricy, President of the Association of American Railroads, to Officers of railroad companies regarding logistics of the Freedom Train tour. List of recipients attached. (2 Copies, 7 Pages Each) 31 July 1947

Insert 3 Letter from J. Edward Shugrue Director, American Heritage Foundation, to Hon. Dale E. Cary, Mayor of Lancaster regarding a news release announcing the start of the “Year of Dedication”. 5 September 1947

Letter from J. Edward Shugrue Director, American Heritage Foundation, to Hon. Dale E. Cary, Mayor of Lancaster regarding publicity information for scheduled Freedom Train stop in Lancaster. 17 September 1947

Insert 4 Letter from Lyman C. Hunt, Program Chairman Burlington, Vermont Branch of the American Heritage Foundation, to J. Edward Shugrue Director, American Heritage Foundation regarding the events of Burlington, Vermont’s “Week of Rededication”. (3 Pages) 30 September 1947

 

Folder 15

Insert 1 Letter from John W. Beyer to Mayor Dale E. Cary regarding the formation of a Freedom Train Committee in Lancaster. (2 Pages) 10 August 1948

Insert 2 Copies of the letter from W. Beyer to Mayor Dale E. Cary regarding the formation of a Freedom Train Committee in Lancaster. (4 Copies, 2 Pages Each) 10 August 1948

 

Folder 16

Insert 1 Letter from Alan Metreger, 2310 S. 59th Ave. Cicero, ILL. to The General Chairman of the Rededication Week and Freedom Train Celebration regarding the construction and planning of the Rededication Week Parade. 24 August 1948

Letter from James E. Wagner, Minister at Saint Peter’s Church, Lancaster PA, to John W. Beyer, Esq. 110 East King Street, Lancaster regarding the Church Section of the Freedom Train Committee. (2 Pages) 25 August 1948

Insert 2 Memorandum from L.W. Newcomer, Secretary, to Mayor Cary regarding letter described below. 11 August 1948

Letter from Alan Metreger, Official Float Decorator, Fort Wayne Rededication Week Parade, to the Secretary of the Lancaster Chamber of Commerce regarding the Rededication Week Parade in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and the upcoming Rededication Week in Lancaster. 7 August 1948

Newspaper Article titled “Job of Decorating Parade Floats Full of Fun, But it Also has No end of Grief, Heartaches”. The News-Sentinel, Fort Wayne, Indiana. 5 August 1948.

Insert 3 Note from Eric Friedheim to Mr. Beyer regarding his arrival in Lancaster on Friday September 3, 1948. No Date

Note from D. E. Cary to Mr. Beyer regarding the letter described below. 12 September 1948

Letter from Martin M. Harnish, President of the Lancaster Bar Association, to William R. Simpson, Esq. 52 North Duke Street, Lancaster regarding the appointing of a committee from the Bar Association to work with the Freedom Train Committee. 20 July 1948

Insert 4 Letter from John W. Beyer, Chairman of Lancaster City Freedom Train Committee, to The American Heritage Foundation, 17 East 45th Street, New York City, N.Y. regarding the ordering of publicity and committee materials. (2 Pages) 10 September 1948

Letter from Eric Friedheim, Area Director, to John W. Beyer regarding the Freedom Train visit to Lancaster, and congratulating, and thanking him for the preparation and successful visit. 14 October 1948.

Insert 5 Letter from Richard A. Snyder to Hon. K.L. Shirk St. 33 North Duke Street, Lancaster regarding the plans to have a refreshment stand set up and operated by the American Legion while the Freedom Train is in Lancaster. 1 October 1948

Letter from K.L. Shirk to John W. Beyer, Esq. 110 East King Street, Lancaster regarding the letter described above. 5 October 1948

Letter from K.L. Shirk to John W. Beyer, Esq. 110 East King Street, Lancaster regarding a thank-you received for the purchase of Freedom Train tickets. 7 October 1948

 

Folder 17

Insert 1 Letter from J. Edward Shugrue, National Director of the American Heritage Foundation, to John W. Beyer, 110 East King Street, Lancaster regarding the Week of Rededication and thanking him for his work on the project. 4 January 1949

Letter from J. Edward Shugrue, National Director of The American Heritage Foundation, to Hon. Dale E. Cary, Mayor of Lancaster regarding the Week of Redeication and thanking him for his work on the project. 4 January 1949

Insert 2 Letter from John W. Beyer to Rev. Brubaker, 236 Lancaster Ave regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Rev. James E. Wagner, 338 College Ave, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to R.L. Eshleman, 237 South West End Avenue, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Donald Witmer, 737 New Holland Ave, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to J.A. Butler, 121 Rose Avenue, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Walter C. Miller, c/o Manufacturers Association, 28 East Orange St. Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Alfred O. McGaw, 675 Manor Street, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Bert Leighton, 825 Martha Ave, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to John Himes, WLAN, 252 North Queen Street, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Walter O. Miller, WGAL, 8 West King Street, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Herbert B. Krone, Lancaster New Era, 8 West King St, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter form John W. Beyer to Paul B. Souder, 235 West Orange St, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to K.L. Shirk, Esq. 33 North Duke St, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Herbert W. Kauffman, 431 North President Ave, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Richard Lowell, 38 West Orange St, Lancaster regarding his donation and thanking him on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary for his efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to The Junior Chamber of Commerce, Lancaster thanking them on behalf of the Mayor, Dale E. Cary, for their efforts in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter form John W. Beyer to Robert Gunder, Landisville Pa, thanking him for his support in bringing the Freedom Train to Lancaster. 10 January 1949

Letter from John W. Beyer to Mayor Dale E. Cary, Lancaster regarding the final payment made to The American Heritage Foundation, and detailing the thank-you letters sent to contributing members of the Lancaster Freedom Train Committee. 10 January 1949

Insert 3 Receipt. James G. Blaine, Treasurer, The American Heritage Foundation, received $419.98 payment from John W. Beyer, Finance Chairman, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee, for cost of bringing Freedom Train to Lancaster12 January 1949

Letter from Winthrop W. Aldrich, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, The American Heritage Foundation, to John W. Beyer, Finance Chairman, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee thanking him for the Committee’s efforts in the Freedom Train project. 12 January 1949

Receipt. James G. Blaine, Treasurer, The American Heritage Foundation, received $65.00 payment from John W. Beyer, Finance Chairman, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee, for cost of bringing Freedom Train to Lancaster. 8 February 1949

Handwritten memo from Jim Wagner to John Beyer regarding copies of letters. No Date

Letter from H.J. Vallely, The American Heritage Foundation, to John W. Beyer, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee regarding the money received, and money owed to The American Heritage Foundation for the Freedom Train visit. 8 February 1949

Letter to The American Heritage Foundation from John W. Beyer, regarding a $65.00 check sent to the Foundation. 7 February 1949

Letter to The American Heritage Foundation from John W. Beyer, regarding a $419.98 donation check sent to the Foundation. 10 January 1949

Insert 4 Letter from John W. Beyer to The American Heritage Foundation, Attn: H.J. Vallely regarding the letter sent to him on 8 February 1949, and expressing his dissappointment regarding the small amount raised by the merchants and citizens of Lancaster. 11 February 1949

 

Folder 18     

Insert 1 Invitation cards to the Freedom Train Official Inspection Party. (3 cards) 10 October 1948

Insert 2 “Notes on Organization” Lists of possible individuals and organizations to contact for donations for the Freedom Train visit and an outline for future meetings, includes handwritten notes. (3 Copies, 2 Pages Each) No Date.

Insert 3 Packing check list, Mayor’s Kit, American Heritage Foundation. No Date

 

Folder 19

Insert 1 List of Lancaster Freedom Train Committee member names, positions, and addresses. No Date

Expanded list of Lancaster Freedom Train Committee member names, positions, and addresses (business and home). (2 Copies, 2 Pages Each)

Insert 2 Letter from John W. Beyer to Mayor Dale E. Cary regarding the newly formed Lancaster Train Committee, and a list of members. (3 Pages) 10 August 1948

Insert 3 List of tickets ordered for Freedom Train Visit. (2 Copies, 1 Page Each) No Date

 

Folder 20

Insert 1 Letter from John W. Beyer, Chairman and Herbert W. Kauffman, Treasurer, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee to “gentlemen” regarding the need to raise more money to pay the costs of the Freedom Train stopping in Lancaster. (2 Copies, 1 Page Each) No Date

Insert 2 Membership roster for the Lancaster Chamber of Commerce. (8 Pages) No Date

Envelope with handwritten note referring to document mentioned below. No Date

Handwritten note referring to document below left by John W. Beyer for Les Newcomer. No Date

Edited letter from John W. Beyer, Chairman and Herbery W. Kauffman, Treasurer, Lancaster Freedom Train Committee to “gentlemen” regarding the need to raise money to pay the costs of the Freedom Train stopping in Lancaster. No Date

Insert 3 Letter from Herbert W. Kauffman, Chairman of the Finance Committee of Lancaster City, to the Fraternal/Organizations of Lancaster, regarding the need to raise more money to pay the costs of the Freedom Train stopping in Lancaster. No Date

 

Folder 21 Addresses delivered at the White House Conference and Proceedings at The American Heritage Foundation Luncheon. (30 Pages) 22 May 1947

 

Folder 22

Insert 1 Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation detailing the physical description of the Freedom Train as well as the mileage of individual railroads involved in the movement of the freedom train. (3 Pages) 17 August [1947]

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation introducing the American Heritage Campaign’s slogan: “Freedom is Everybody’s Job”. (2 Pages) 21 August 1948

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation announcing the list of items to be carried and displayed on the Freedom Train. (3 Pages) 24 August 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage foundation announcing that Irving Berlin had donated his song “The Freedom Train”, as well as the copyright and all royalties to the American Heritage Foundation. Also includes “Freedom Train” lyrics. (3 Pages) 25 August 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation announcing James Sauter as national chairman of the Public Relations and Special Events Division of the American Heritage Foundation. 25 August 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation detailing how the press, radio, advertising and movie facilities will be used further advertise the Freedom Train and the Year of Redeication. (2 Pages) 26 August [1947]

Insert 2 Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation describing the Freedom Train tour, and the details of the document protection. (2 Copies 3 Pages Each) 28 August 1947

Insert 3 Envelope from The American Heritage Foundation, 17 East 45th Street, New York 17, N.Y. to Mr. Richard Lowell, Lancaster Jr. Chamebr of Commerce, 45 East Orange St. Lancaster. 29 August 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation announcing the twenty-eight Marine Corps enlisted me and officers who will guard the Freedom Train. (2 Copies, 2 Pages Each) 31 August 1947

 

Folder 23

Insert 1 Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation detailing the Freedom Train tour and schedule. (9 Pages) 2 September 1947

Envelope from The American Heritage Foundation, Room 408, 1501 Broadway, New York 18, N.Y. to Mr. Richard Lowell, Lancaster Jr. Chamber of Commerce, 45 East Orange St. Lancaster. 2 September 1947

Insert 2 Envelope from The American Heritage Foundation, Room 408, 1501 Broadway, New York 18, N.Y. To Honorable Mayor Dale E. Cary City, Hall, Lancaster. No Date

Insert 3 Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation outlining each city’s announcement of the Freedom Train’s upcoming arrival. 17 September 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation announcing the visit of a fourteen-man delegation from the International Transportation Federation, and listing the members of the delegation. (2 Pages) 19 September [1947]

Insert 4 Envelope from The American Heritage Foundation, 17 East 45th Street, New York 17, N.Y. to Mr. Richard Lowell, Lancaster Jr. Chamber of Commerce, 45 East Orange St. Lancaster. 29 September 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation announcing that segregation was not allowed at any exhibition of the Freedom Train. 29 September 1947

 

Folder 24 Envelope from The American Heritage Foundation, 17 East 45th Street, New York 17, N.Y. to Mr. Richard Lowell, Lancaster Jr. Chamber of Commerce, 45 East Orange St. Lancaster. 1 October 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation detailing the Rededication Week celebrations in Boston, Massachusetts; Worcester, Massachusetts; Providence, Rhode Island; Nashua, New Hampshire; Montpelier, Vermont; Lowell, Massachusetts; Pittsfield, Massachusetts; and Utica, New York. (3 Pages) 1 October 1947

Press Release from Richard Condon, The American Heritage Foundation detailing the Freedom Train welcome messages given in New York City. (3 pages) 26 September 1947

Folder 25 Special Bulletin 10B: Viewing of exhibition cars by Mayor’s committees and meeting of the Freedom Train ceremony. Lancaster, October 10, 1948 (2 Copies, 2 Pages Each) 2 October 1948


Folder 26 Church and Synagogue Share in welcoming the Freedom Train and in observing Rededication Week; religious advice for celebrating Rededication Week. (2 Copies, 2 Pages Each) Program Dates: October 10th and October 3-10.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Bouquet: Correspondence of Col. Henry Bouquet, 1758-1765, 1930 Print Email
February 26, 2015

Call Number: MG-626

1 folder

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Lancaster, Pa.)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 13

Description: This collection contains transcribed copies and carbon copies of the letters to and from Col. Henry Bouquet from 1758-1765. All of these letters are dated in Lancaster as mentioned in the 1930 letter from Lucien Brault of Ottawa, CAN, to C. H. Martin, Esq. of Lancaster, also included in this collection. The letters mainly detail wants and needs of the troops and Bouquet, including the need for supplies, troops, ammunition and in the case of Bouquet’s personal needs, a new pair of trousers. These are recurrent in the letters as are the continuous requests for discharges and promotions.

Creator: Martin, C. H.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Source unknown.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by EH, February 2015.

 

Folder 1

Insert 1 1930.1 item. A letter from Lucien Brault, Ottawa, Canada, to C. H. Martin, Esq in the office of the Deputy Collector in Lancaster, PA. The letter states that Lucien is enclosing 6 documents from Bouquet dated at Lancaster and the cost for the papers and copies.

Insert 2 1758. 2 items, 4 pieces. Both are copies of the same letter from Bouquet dated Lancaster, 20th May, 1758, sent to Mr. Allen. Mr. Allen appears to be a chief justice that Bouquet is requesting a few favors from after leaving some place in a hurry. His foremost concern was a pair of trousers that a Miss Plumstead was making for him due his becoming ragged. He needed this man to retrieve the trousers so that he may once again be decent in public. His second request to the justice, was a prisoner named McLean that Bouquet wanted extricated as he did not believe his punishment was fair or just when he could be serving his country. Bouquet goes on to talk about how the “gentleman of the land” such as this gentleman he is writing to, are viewed as strange and his opinion on the court system and compared to the Roman Catholic church. He ends with the acceptance of ladies and his plans to set out for Carlisle and signs “your most obedient humble servant.”

Insert 3 1759. 2 items, 6 pieces. Copy and carbon copy. Bouquet writes to General Stanwix regarding his (Stanwix) advertisement for wagons and horses from the people of Lancaster. Bouquet explains that these people need to be compensated in order for them to willingly give up their belongings and leave their homes. He also goes on to explain that he does not have any money to pay bills and requests that money be sent quickly. There are a few propositions posed as alternate ways of gaining wagons and horses at the end of the letter and he asks for the general’s continued faith and support of his efforts.

Insert 4 1764. 2 items, 4 pieces. Copy and carbon copy. A letter from Captain Prevost is informing Bouquet that he has taken leave of the battalion in order to tend to other matters in Philadelphia and New York after taking care of all matters where he has left. He also mentions other men have come forward to claim their discharge and asks Bouquet to grant them their leave as well.

Insert 5 1765. 2 items, 6 pieces. Copy and carbon copy. Captain Schlosser writes to Bouquet that they could easily enlist young men if they had money to enlist them. He also writes that he is sad that Bouquet is stepping down from his position expresses his hope that the replacement is an honest man. Schlosser tells of a reprimand that he has received from Prevost about allowing men to leave prior to their enlistment end and goes on to say that he thinks that Prevost had altered the duty end date for these men.

Insert 6 1765. 2 items, 6 pieces. Copy and carbon copy. Captain Schlosser writes about multiple men that they have enlisted that are strong workers who were promised sergeant positions when they open. He sees a dilemma in having one recruit, John Rose, become a sergeant before two other men, John Wright and John Cuthbert, as they have been either performing the duties of sergeant already or performing their current job so well that they should be promoted immediately. Schlosser goes on to talk about the companies and the lack of officers, the need for ammunition, and recruitment. He ends with a PS about a servant that deserted his captain while on the road.

Insert 7 1765. 2 items, 4 pieces. Copy and carbon copy. Captain Schlosser opens with a discussion about holding information from Bouquets successor since there is nothing of importance to tell and transitions into not having any discharges to give out. Since Schlosser, does not have discharges to give, he is sending them directly to Bouquet to receive their discharge from him. He ends with saying that he hopes Bouquet is not displeased with the soldiers and that he has not heard word from the Northern party.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Woerner: Helen Buckwalter Woerner Family Papers, 1798-1939 Print Email
February 26, 2015

Call Number: MG-720

2 boxes     46 folders and rolled map     2 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Lancaster, Pa.)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 15

Description: This collection contains the family papers of Helen Buckwalter Woerner from 1798-1939 including, deeds, farm inventories, public sale posters, estate papers and contracts. Some items of interest are the deeds, public sale documents and a Campbell’s Soup Company contract for tomato growing. The item outside of the box is a rolled map that shows the site master plan for the Lancaster Airport that was built on this family’s farm land.

Creator: Woerner family.

Conditions for Access: No restrictions.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Gift of George Woerner, in memory of Helen Buckwalter Woerner, 13 May 2014.

Administrative History: Processed and finding aid prepared by EH, Fall 2014.

 

Folder 1 Henry Buckwalter.1849-1880. 3 items. A green book detailing what Henry gave each of his children throughout his lifetime including money and possessions such as live stock and house furniture; an inventory page of the estate of Henry after his death; and the distribution of account balance to heirs.

Folder 2 Abraham Kreider. 1861. The account of David Weidman and George Sahm, executors of Abraham Kreider’s last will and testament. Details what was paid to the heirs in terms of money and property and when.

Folder 3 George Sahm. 1866-1875. 3 items. The last will and testament of George Sahm, inventory of the deceased George Sahm and, the account of David and Henry Sahm, executors of George Sahm’s last will and testament. This final piece details what was paid to the heirs in terms of money and property and when.

Folder 4 Elizabeth Heidman. 1889. The account of David Joseph Buckwalter and Jacob Newcomer, executors of Abraham Kreider’s last will and testament. Details what was paid to the heirs in terms of money and property and when.

Folder 5 Christian Frank. 1889-1890. 2 items. The first item is the exemplification of the sale of Christian Frank’s real estate after his demise to pay debts. The second item is the conditions of sale from the public auction of Christian’s land at which Joseph Buckwalter purchased the property for $14,300.82.

Folder 6 Maria Bassler. 1889-1892. 3 items. Two of these items are trust books kept by Joseph Buckwalter for Maria Bassler. The third item is a declaration from the Court of Common Pleas of Lancaster County stating that Maria Bassler had been declared a lunatic and Joseph Buckwalter had been appointed committee instead of Elias Bomgardener.

Folder 7 Eliza G Sahm. 1896-1910. 4 items. A deed to a cemetery plot in the Manheim Fairview Cemetery, the last will and testament of Eliza, the account of Hiram Buckwalter and Daniel Breitigan as executors of Eliza’s will, and the last item, an acknowledgement from all heirs of their inheritance.

Folder 8. Eliza G Sahm. 1910-1911. 5 items. Two of these items are the collateral inheritance tax receipts from Hiram Buckwalter for the payment owed from inheritances from Eliza. Two more copies of the account of Hiram and Daniel, the executors are in this file as well. Also an account book from Hiram Buckwalter with signatures and receipts from each of the people that received something from Eliza’s estate and when they received it.

Folder 9 Henry G Sahm. 1910. 2 items. A copy of the adjudication of the last will and testament of Henry Sahm stating that all his remaining estate, personal and mixed should be sold quickly upon his death. This document names Levi Sahm and Hiram Buckwalter as the executors of the will. Half of the estate was to go to Barbara Buckwalter and the other half to go to Levi Sahm. In the second document, it formalized that the debt had been paid to these parties by the executors.

Folder 10 Levi G Sahm. 1910-1926. 7 items. The first account, first and final account, and the second and final account of Hiram Buckwalter, guardian of Menno and Aaron L. Sahm, minors of the late Levi Sahm.   The first account is of the guardianship of Aaron and the final account is the guardianship of Menno Sahm. Both of these detail that Lizzie Sahm will care for these two young boys and will be compensated. Two items are copies of the adjudication of the last will and testament of Levi Sahm. One states that Menno came of age (21 years old) in August of 1920 and was paid $5259.23 by Hiram. The second, that Aaron Sahm became of age in March of 1925 and received $4445.65 from his guardian and executor of Levi’s estate, Hiram. An official signed letter from Menno declares that he is of age and has received his inheritance from Hiram. The final item is from Lizzie Sahm acknowledging that she has received payment for the care of the children.

Folder 11 Hiram Buckwalter. 1926-1930. 9 items. One is a single page for the account of Ivan, Harry and Elam Buckwalter, executors of Hiram Buckwalter's last will and testament. The letters of administration release the estate to Ivan, Harry and Elam to distribute accordingly. Two pages are copies of the burial expense for Hiram from Ralph. M Spacht. There is a small paper that states that the letters of administration of the estate of Hiram Buckwalter were granted to Ivan, Harry, and Elam Buckwalter. A real estate sale agreement between Hiram and wife Barbara Buckwalter to Stella and Harry Buckwalter. The real estate sale includes a check to N.S. Myers, the broker. Conditions of sale from a public auction of one of Hiram’s properties that included a 1.5 story bungalow, its contents and a Ford Coupe. This part of the estate was purchased by Amos Peifer. A second Conditions of sale from public auction of another of Hiram’s properties that included a farm with the house, out buildings, and all land. This was sold to Daniel Buckwalter. A third Conditions of sale of a warehouse owned by Hiram was sold to David M. Witmer.

Folder 12 Hiram Buckwalter. 1930. 6 items. The first and partial account, two copies of the first and final account, two copies of the second and final account are the first 5 documents and detail the payments made to the heirs of Hiram. A letter from the Lancaster Trust Company is the final document and it states that Hiram’s executors paid $16,191.92 for a claim against Hiram’s estate.

Folder 13 Aaron. L Sahm. 1931. 1 item. A letter of exceptions to the account of the executors of Hiram’s will that the accountants did not account for the entire amount of the fund held by Hiram as Aaron’s legal guardian and need to pay the full $4445.65 owed. It is interesting to also note that Aaron is listed as a “weak-minded person.”

Folder 14 Deed. 1798. 1 item. 274 acres of land to Christian Stauffer and wife in Warwick Township. Payment of 1,530 pounds for property. Signed and sealed. Wax seals have deteriorated significantly but, ribbons still survive.

Folder 15 Deed.1813. 1 item.   10 acres of land to Henry Bernhard from George and Anne Dutt for 200 pounds and 5 shillings. Ribbons and wax seals are both in exceptional condition.

Folder 16 Deed. 1823. 1 item. 108 acres and 15 perches of land in Warwick Township from Ann Eberle to Peter Cross for $1,621.35.

Folder 17 Deed. 1837.   1 item. This deed is very faded and the parchment stained making the writings difficult to read. The land is sold to Christian Kreiter by Phillip Fulmer for $450. It appears that the land may be in Warwick Township.

Folder 18 Deed. 1859. 1 item. 114 perches of land in Penn Township from Andrew Hackman to George Dutt for $114.

Folder 19 Deed. 1863. 1 item. 10 acres of land in Warwick Township from Daniel Shriner and Benjamin Ritter, assignees of Thomas and Maria Masterson, to Christian Franck for $3,300.

Folder 20 Deed. 1874. 1 item. 90 perches and a 2 story brick house in West Lampeter Township from Henry Burkholder to Martha, Veronica, Rebecca and Ann Burkholder for $168.75.

Folder 21 Deed. 1883. 1 item. 4 acres of land in Manheim Township from Abraham Huber and wife to Samuel Myers for $1,300.

Folder 22 Deed. 1919. 1 item.   4 acres and a 2 story frame house in Neffsville from Loretta Jane Nolly and husband to Hiram Buckwalter for $5,000.

Folder 23 Deed. 1925. 1 item. 2 and one half frame house and lot in between Neffsville and East Petersburg from Levi Landis to Hiram Buckwalter for $3,133.94.

Folder 24 Land Map Draft. Date unknown. 1 item. 10 acres neat in Warwick Township granted by George Drutt to his son-in-law Henry Bernhardy.

Folder 25 Land Map. 1857. 1 item. 105 acres and 40 perches of land in Manheim Township. Henry Buckwalter.

Folder 26 Telephone Line Map and Agreement. 1912. 1 item. The map shows the lines of Kissel Hill Rural Telephone Company in Warwick Township and the agreement is a contract to American Union Telephone Company and Kissel Hill.

Folder 27 Stock Papers. 1913-1930. 6 items. The first two certificates are stocks for the Phoenix Water Power Company in 1913 for 100 shares and 25 shares each. There is a letter from the Phoenix Water Power Company reiterating that the output of their new plant goes entirely to the Reading Transit and Light Company and they are seeking funding to pay the balance on the machinery. A stock for 10 shares or $100,000 capital stock from Lancaster Abattoir Company and two shares or $25,000 capital for the Farmers Market Company of Lancaster, PA. A letter from M. M. Harnish stating that 2 shares of stock of the Lancaster Famers Market Company are transferred to Hiram Buckwalter. All of these stocks and letters are addressed to Hiram Buckwalter.

Folder 28 Lease Agreement. 1878. 1 item. Joseph Buckwalter is allowing his mother and father the use of his land and part of his house for the rest of their lives.

Folder 29 Property Conditions of Sale. 1921. 1 item. The conditions of a public sale of a property to [Zeno Fory] for $3,200.

Folder 30 Livestock Sale Agreement. 1933. 3 items. Elam Buckwalter’s purchase of 7 steers weighing 5745 lbs for a total cost of $224.05 from W. M. Dunlap. The second item is a copy of the pruchase agreement and the other is the envelope.

Folder 31 Loan Agreements. 1934. 1 item. This folder contains a packet of information from the Federal Land Bank of Baltimore. There is a smaller piece of paper that reminds farmers that the Farm Debt Adjustment Committee does not charge farmers and that they should not accept other services to adjust debts and gain debts. The packet breaks down the loans and what the debt these loans will be put towards paying. Also included is the Creditors Agreement at the back of the packet.

Folder 32 Motor Vehicle Title. 1929. 1 item. The title for a Ford Coupe to Hiram Buckwalter.

Folder 33 Sale Posters. 1909-1910. 2 items. One is a larger poster of a public auction that took place on Saturday October 9th, 1909. The poster itself is in a deteriorated condition with considerable tears and pieces missing along the fold lines. Also on the back, blank side is some postage as if this were mailed. The poster advertises three different sales. One is a farm with house, barn and other related buildings, a second is a house with a small orchard, and the third is a tract of land. All of these properties were Levi Sahms before his death. The smaller poster is in much better condition with the exception of a missing corner. The poster advertises the public sale of a small farm with an orchard and farm related buildings and stable along with the farm house. The date of the sale was October 22, 1910 and the land was Eliza Sahms.

Folder 34 Fire Insurance Papers. 1893-1939. 3 items. The insurance papers from 1893 are for Henry G Sahm and they detail the sizes of his house, pig sty, summer house and bank barn that are to be insured for a total of $2540. In 1905, the tobacco shed was added to the insurance for a value of $60. The other insurance paper is from 1895 and is the detail of Peter Hollersten. He has on his policy, a house and the contents, a stable and the contents, a chicken house, pig sty and, corn crib and the contents for all of those insured at $1265. The final item is in two pieces, a letter and the envelope. The letter is a notice that the tax for the Mount Joy Township Mutual Fire Insurance Company is due on November 1, 1939 at a cost of $6.90.

Folder 35 Insurance Renewal Receipt. 1929. 1 item. Simply a slip from Isaac and Walter Herr stating that Hiram Buckwalter’s insurance was renewed in the value of $2000 for a cost of $6.40.

Folder 36 Crop Insurance Receipt. 1938. 1 item. This item is a letter and the envelope. The crop insured is 156 net bushels of a type of soft red wheat for a cost of $2.60 to Elam Buckwalter.

Folder 37 Farm Inventory. Date Unknown. 1 item. A small bound booklet containing mostly quantities and costs of hens and roosters. Some pages contain other domestic expenses and it looks like a child got a hold of the book at some point in time based on the drawings and writings covering many of the pages.

Folder 38 Campbell’s Soup Contract. 1939. 1 item. A very long, and detailed contract for the growing of Campbell’s Soup tomatoes. This details the process of harvesting and calculating of weights, payments and the quality that needs to be maintained in order to receive payment. It also states how many acres, between 6-7 exactly in this case, the farmer may grow the tomatoes on and that they may not grow any other tomato but the seeds provided by Campbell’s during this season.

Folder 39 Purchase Records. 1868. 1 item. A very small brown booklet containing mostly crossed out and illegible (due to ink bleeding) purchases by Henry Snyder. Details the date purchased, the item and the cost.

Folder 40 Purchase Records. 1880. 2 items. Another small brown booklet, this time an H.S. Eberly with a H. B. Snyder are detailing their purchases. On one side it is Eberly with Snyder and the opposite side is Snyder with Eberly. Whichever name comes first on a certain side, is the person that the following pages in that orientation will document. Again, the ink has bled and the pages crossed out but, the writing is much more legible than the 1868 record. The other item is a composition book with letter tabs on the right side. These tabs are like an address book in which buyers are organized by their last names according to these tabs. Under the names is a list of items purchased. This could be a log of a store documenting customer purchases.

Folder 41 Auction Account. Date unknown. There are 37 pages to this one item. Each one with the name of the buyer, the item(s) bought and the price that they paid. These go in order of the auction and are numbered as such.

Folder 42 Promise of Payment. 1912. 1 item. The promise of payment of $550 to Hiram Buckwalter 90 days after the written date from another Buckwalter. The first initial is difficult to discern.

Folder 43 Prothonotary Receipt. 1926. 1 item. A letter and envelope. The letter is a receipt for $23.5 for an appointment for Hiram Buckwalter as the guardian of Aaron Sahm with Frank Hartman.

Folder 44 Payment and Letter. 1928. 1 item. There are three pieces to the item. The letter, check and envelope. The check is to Hiram Buckwalter for $200 dollars. The letter from John Heiland of the Leaf Tobacco Company explains that this is the best he can do for the moment but hopes to pay the rest of a bill in the future.

Folder 45 Bank Documents. 1897-1912. 1 item. This item is a pouch containing approximately 57 pieces of bank documents including checks, check books, and receipts.

Folder 46 Letters and Bank Notes-Lancaster Trust and Co. 1931. 1 item. 2 letters and one punched paid check. Both letters were sent to an M. M. Harnish, the first from John Ruth, president, and the second by Fred Homsher, the Vice President of Lancaster Trust and Co. Ruth’s letter is from the 31st of July stating that he has received a letter from Harnish and is returning a letter addressed to Elam that will explain a situation that we do not know. The letter from Homsher is dated the 4th of August and encloses the check or cancelled judgement note of Hiram Buckwalter.

Rolled Map Outside of the box. Master Plan Map Lancaster Airport. Date unknown. The map details the airport as a whole including existing buildings to be removed and new ones to be built. 33 buildings are to be removed from the property, 6 of which do not get removed until after ENE runway ILS is installed. 14 existing buildings are to remain, and 4 new buildings are to be built. There is a note to remove all roads between the new entrance and county road. There are two new runways that are within the “X” shape of the new land acquisitions. A ENE-WSW runway and a WNW-ESE runway are to be installed as well as a new taxiway #2 and access road.

LAST_UPDATED2
 
Steinman: George Steinman Papers Print Email
February 26, 2015

Call Number: MG-184

1 album, 4 boxes   x folders     2.5 cubic ft.

Repository: LancasterHistory.org (Lancaster, Pa.)

Shelving Location: Archives South, Side 4

Description: The album, compiled by George Steinman, contains many photographs of buildings, tombstones, monuments and scenes of Lancaster city and county. Ephemera and newspaper articles are among the photographs. Represented in the album are Postlethwaite’s Tavern, hotels and taverns, fire houses, the Conestoga Massacre, churches, cemeteries, Ephrata Cloister, prominent citizens and their homes, Stehli Silk Mill, and schools. The four boxes contain original correspondence, documents, photographs and ephemera or and pertaining to the same subject matter as the album. The contents of the boxes have not been fully cataloged.

Creator: Steinman, George, 1847-1920.

Conditions for Access: Restricted access. Patrons wishing to view the Steinman Album or the contents of the boxes must make an appointment with the Archives Staff at least two weeks prior to visit.

Conditions Governing Reproductions: Collection may not be photocopied. Please contact Research Staff or Archives Staff with questions.

Language: English

Source of Acquisition: Album was a gift of John M. Gibson, 22 June 1968. Source of contents of boxes unknown.                     

Related Materials: Please see the Photograph Collections for photographs referenced in this finding aid.

Administrative History: Finding aid for the album was prepared by PK and MSH, 2008.

 

Steinman Album

Inside front cover

Silhouette – the Librarian, William Frederick Worner, Berlin, Germany, 1934, by Fuhm?

Mr. George Steinman – owner of album, given to LCHS after his death by George F. Franklin

Southwest view of Lancaster Counter by P. S. Duvel, Philadelphia

Page 1

New prison, built 1851, cost $110,000 (LCHS photo 2050511)

Shreiner’s Conestoga Wagon (with four persons and a dog) at Landis Valley (LCHS photo 2070802)

Page 2

Nanticoke Indiantown Marker (group includes Herbert Beck, two Native Americans and others)

John F. Reynolds historical marker

Herbert H. Beck, president of LCHS, 1924

Milton Hess Diffenderfer, 1871 – 1942

Statue, Masonic Lodge #43, 13 West King Street

John W. Lippold, Financial Secretary, February 1928

Page 3

Postlethwaite’s Tavern – First court of Lancaster County, 1729 (LCHS Print Collection P010309)

Second Courthouse in Penn Square, erected 1783 – 1785, taken down 1853 (LCHS photo 1010197 and D070136)

Page 4

Fire house – Shiffler/American Hose House, Lancaster (LCHS photo 2011003)

Fire house – Union Fire house, northwest corner of Market and Grant Streets, Lancaster

Fire house – Humane fire house, west side of Manor Street near King Steet, Lancaster

Fire house – First Humane Hose House

Second courthouse in Penn Square (LCHS photo 1010197 and D010136)

Page 5

New courthouse – northwest corner of King and Duke Streets, cornerstone laid August 23, 1852. S. Sloane, architect. James Crawford, Superintendent. First court held November 20, 1854. Cost $166,000. Jacob’s Cigar Factory also shown (the famous counterfeiter)

Friendship Fire House, Duke Street north of Chestnut Street, Lancaster (2 views)

Sun Fire House, East Vine, east of Duke Street, Lancaster

Shiffler/American Hose Company (same photo as on page 4) (LCHS photo 2011003)

Page 6

Old waterworks, built 1837 (2 photos)

Old waterworks (from Lancaster New Era, October 29, 1929)

Clipping from “Events in Indian History” by Weiner, Lancaster, 1814

Article dated may 4, 1889, “Indian Bones Exhumed”

Page 7

Powder House of the Revolution, southwest corner of Duke and james Streets, Lancaster (LCHS photo 1010443)

Lancaster, subsequent to 1854

Old jail, northwest corner of Prince and King Streets, Lancaster, erected 1740 at cost of £204, 9s, 9d. Enlarged 1747, 1775 and 1828. Print shows murder of Indians by Paxton Boys, 1763.

Page 8

Masonic hall, founded 1798

Page 9

City Hall, 1860 (LCHS photo 1010410)

Mechanics Library, Ruth’s Fine Groceries, McCoy…

Page 10

Brick homes, fenced in backyards, wagons with boys (LCHS photo 1030337)

Count Zinzendorf historical marker

Military formation at City Hall (LCHS photo 1010436 – Pat’s note says the photo was taken from the image in this album)

W. L. Germon, Arch Street, Philadelphia (partial view, LCHS photo 1010436)

Page 11

List of Fencibles, 1857

Captain Philip Boyle of Lancaster Phalanx, 1812

The Old Lock-Up, East Mifflin Street, west of Duke Street, Lancaster

First meetings of Franklin College were held in this building

Page 12

Church (unidentified?)

St. James Episcopal Church, northeast corner of Duke and Orange Streets, Lancaster. Built 1820.

Article, “St. James in 1744”

Page 13

St. Mary’s Catholic Curch, southeast corner of Vine and Prince Streets, Lancaster, built 1762, taken down 1881 (LCHS photo 2070912)

St. James Episcopal Church

Page 14

Datestone – Hoc Templium, SS Tinitate Ecclesia Evangelica Saratad, MDCCLXI

Datestone – Zur Ehrie Der HH Dreyeinigkeit ist Diese Evangel Kirche Ebanet

Gravestone of Thomas Mifflin, Esq. (drawing) (LCHS photo D030184 and D070137)

First Presbyterian Church

Thomas Wharton, Governor of PA, buried in Trinity Lutheran Church (LCHS photo 2030625)

Lutheran Sunday School, Duke Street, Lancaster

Page 15

Trinity Lutheran Church (2 photos, one showing graveyard) (LCHS photo D030180)

Presbyterian church built 1770, taken down 1850 (painting?) (LCHS photo 1010267)

Presbyterian church built 1851

Page 16

First German Reformed Church, interior, Orange Street, Lancaster (LCHS photo 1030136)

Moravian Graveyard, northeast corner of Prince and Marion Streets, Lancaster

Page 17

First German Reformed Church, built 1753, taken down 1852 (LCHS photo 1030136)

Log building – no notation (LCHS photo 1010375)

Moravian Church, Lancaster, 1818 (LCHS photo 1010252)

Moravian? Brethren’s Church and Parsonage at Lancaster

Datestone – 1746 Kysset – Den – Sohn – PSA – Z – Gloria – Pleurae

Page 18

Old Grace Lutheran Church

412 Manor Street, birthplace of Christ Lutheran Church, September 29, 1867

New Grace Evangelical Lutheran Church, northeast corner of James and Queen Streets, Lancaster

Christ Lutheran Chapel, 1868, West King Street near Manor Street

Feagleyville – old Clay Street chapel (LCHS photo 1030131)

Feagleyville

Page 19

Feagleyville

St. John’s Lutheran Church built 1853, demolished façade 1891 (LCHS photo 1030134)

St. John’s Lutheran Church, West Orange Street at Arch Street, Lancaster

St. Paul’s Reformed Church, southwest corner of Duke and Orange Streets, Lancaster, built 1853

Page 20

St. James Parish House

St. James Episcopal Churchyard

Stone in memory of Elizabeth Slough at St. James Churchyard

Monuments to Jasper Yeates and wife at St. James Churchyard

Monument to Edward Hand with flag at St. James Churchyard (LCHS photo 2070301)

Gateway on Orange Street to St. James Churchyard

Page 21

St. John’s Free Episcopal Church

Corner of Chestnut and North Queen Street, Lancaster, showing Caldwell House, original courthouse two blocks distant

Laying cornerstone of St. John’s Fee Episcopal Church

Monument to Thomas Henry Burrowes at St. James Churchyard

Stone in memory of Elizabeth Slough at St. James Churchyard (also on page 20)

Page 22

New church at St. John’s, Pequea (proposed)

First Lutheran Church, Manheim, 1770, from sketch, 1842

Pewter communion set, St. John’s Church, Pequea, 1766 (2 photos) (LCHS photo 1030122)

Gravestones of Peter and Martha Bezillon, St. John’s Episcopal Church, Compassville, Chester County

Page 23

Datestone, old St. John’s Church, Pequea

Stone building, no identification

Old Mennonite Church, Waverland, built 1776, rebuilt 1883, torn down 1926 (LCHS photo 1010242)

James Damant’s seminary, Union Bethel Church at Prince and Orange Streets, Lancaster (LCHS photo 1010133)

Union Bethel painted by E. R. Hamond, 1844

Old Moravian Graveyard, Prince Street near Chestnut Street, Lancaster

Page 24

St. Michael’s Lutheran Church, Christmas, 1908

Lutheran Chruch, Strasburg, Harvest Home, 1910

Old Communion service, St. Michael’s Church, Strasburg

Pewter chalice with lid, Muddy Creek Church

Bucher homestead near Denver

Water Street north of Orange Street, Lancaster

Page 25

St. Peter’s Catholic Church, Columbia

Pewter chalice with lid, Muddy Creek Church (also on page 24)

St. Michael’s Lutheran Church, Strasburg, built 1812

Robert Fulton’s birthplace, painted by R. Fulton Ludlow (LCHS photo 2040305)

St. Catherine’s Church, Drumore, built 1843, torn down 1894

Stone “Andreas Graff” (LCHS photo D030367)

Page 26

Old Methodist Episcopal Church, Strasburg, built 1807. Later known as Templar’s Hall

Tomb of John Funck (artist) Old Mennonite Cemtery, Strasburg

Stone building at foot of Lafayette Hill at Paradise, first used for services of All Saints Episcopal Church (2 photos)

Friends Meetinghouse, Bird-in-Hand, built 1730, burned down August 11, 1888, 1 a.m.

Page 27

Boehm’s Chapel, built by Henry Boehm, 1790 (LCHS photo 1030152)

Donegal Presbyterian Church, built about 1730

Roof construction on building, house/wagon (no identification)

New gateway to Donegal Churchyard, dedicated 1925, shows women in cemetery

Page 28

Grave of Jacob Frailey, solder in the War of 1812, with a goup of women at Lancaster Cemetery

Leacock Presbyterian Church

Pastor Timlow

Page 29

Chestnut Level Presbyterian Church, built c. 1760 (LCHS photo 2070129)

Grave of Jacob Frailey (see page 28)

Middle Octorara Presbyterian Church, Bart, build c. 1730

The old Church (Middle Ocotrara?)

St. Peter’s Catholic Church, Elizabethtown

Building with fence (no identification)

Page 34

Lititz, with history of various building on page 31

Page 35

Moravian Church, Sisters’ House and Parsonage

Brethrens’ House, John Beck’s School

Linden Hall Seminary, founded 1794

Grave of John Sutter, Lititz

Terms of the Establishement for Female Education (Linden Hall)

Page 36

Dwelling of Conrad Beissel, Ephrata Cloister

Saron (Sisters’ House)

Bethania (Brothers’ House) (LCHS photo 1010237)

School House

Old Ephrata Press

Bird on flower stem (watercolor)

Page 37

Saal and Saron, Ephrata Cloister (LCHS photo 2040229)

Bethania (Ephrata Cloister)

God’s Acre (cemetery at Ephrata Cloister)

Seal of the Cloister

Page 39

Log structure – Sadsbury Meetinghouse?

Stone structure – Sadsbury Meetinghouse (LCHS photo 1010247)

Stone structure – Sadsbury Meetinghouse

Quaker meetinghouse, Bird-in-Hand (see page 26)

Page 40

Church (Swartzville or Brickerville?)

Pulpit – Emmanuel Lutheran Church, Brickerville

Tombstone of James Old

Bangor Episcopal Church, Churchtown

Churchtown

Presbyterian Church, Brickerville

Page 41

Mellinger’s Meetinghouse, East Lampeter Township, built 1767

Old Mennonite Church, Landisville

Old Mennonite Church, Landisville

Mellinger Church, shows people and buggies (LCHS photo D030198)

Page 42

Historical marker – Frederick Valentine Melsheimmer, New Holand, with group including Herbert Beck, stone from French Creek quarry

Old St. Catherine’s Graveyard

Page 43

View of North Street, west of Presbyterian Church to Center Square, Marietta

Gravestone of John B. Kevninski

Portrait of Adam Reigart

School buildings, Old Home Week, Marietta

Page 44

St. Mary’s Catholic Church (old and new)

Tavern sign for William Pitt, Earl of Chatham, 1808 – Henry Diffenbaugh – first Anti-Masonic meetings held here

Page 45

Martin Mylin gun shop

Demuth cigar, William Pitt tavern, several other buildings – photo taken 1908 by family member

Widow Duchman residence, William Pitt tavern (artist drawing) (Print P010211)

Railroad bridge – arches – waterworks in background

McCrary Company

Page 46

Tavern sign – County House

Tavern sign – Fountain Inn – information about court and theater productions

Page 47

County House – King Street, east of Duke Street – kept in 1745 by Bausman

County House and building to right

Fountain Inn, west side of South Queen Street (LCHS photo 1010363)

Empty room with desk, chairs

Page 48

Date stones (graves?) – 1749 10 MOL FORDENE ANA BARBARA (Melchoir Fordney and Anna Barbara)

Datestones (graves?) – 1749 10 MOD BARB

Sign of the Grape (bracket)

Chinaware in china closet – note says see #9. King’s rose pitcher, also Pokel (Steigel)

Page 49

Lamb (tavern)

Lamb (tavern)

The Grape Tavern – North Queen Street, south of Orange Street, built by Kirkpatrick, 1839

White Swan Hotel, southwest corner of Penn Square and Queen Street, plus news clipping from October 1806 (LCHS photo 1010387)

Page 50

Sign – Plow Tavern

Sign – Swan Hotel

Plow Tavern (from drawing) (LCHS photo 2070241)

Swan Hotel

Relay Hotel – presons nearby (photo of different view 2060304)

Sign – NICOLAVS HITZELBERGER MAGDALENA H 1766

Page 53

Eagle Hotel (LCHS photo 2060610)

Sorrell Horse – other buildings (LCHS photo 1030157)

Page 54

Sign – Lamb Hotel (1834 known as Golden Lamb) – notation for Cosgroves’s Tavern, north side of Chestnut Street, east of Christian Street. Notation for Franklin House, west side of North Queen Street, north of Orange Street – 1801 Mr. Hatz kept tavern under name “Dr. Franklin”

Indian Queen, from drawing, later site of Eastern Market. Notation for North American, southeast corner of North Queen and Chestnut Streets during Revolution kept by Peter Hofnagle – place where British prisoners were held (LCHS photo 1030155)

Page 55

Old City Hall (with flags) – shows Hirsh & Brother Clothier (LCHS photo 2070329)

Building with theater posters beside – Cosgrove’s Tavern, East Chestnut Street

Franklin House? (see notation page 54)

Page 56

Washington Hotel (Kept by “Devil” Dave Miller) southwest corner of Duke and King Streets (Print P010209) and Farmer’s National Bank, built 1813, chartered 1810

Exchange Hotel

Woolworth Store (original) (LCHS photo D120475)

First home of Lancaster Curling Club, 42 East Chestnut Street (with patriotic decorations)

Page 57

Ephrata Mountain Spring Hotel registery – signatures below of Gen. George B. McClellan, Abraham Lincoln, and Thaddeus Stevens

Union Hotel, southeast corner of Chestnut and Christians Streets

Sign - ? House (has picture of Washington)

City Hotel, North Queen Street near Chestnut Street, Trout and Baker beyond, second floor home of YWCA

Page 58

Fites Eddy on the Susquehanna River, built by Felix Sweigart in 1849 – exterior

Fites Eddy – interior

Burning the Columbia Bridge

Birthplace of David Ramsey (see also page 157)

Columbia Bridge (LCHS photo D070207)

Columbia Bridge – destroyed September 29, 1896

Page 59

White Horse Hotel? – Salisbury on the King’s Highway (persons standing outside) (LCHS photo 1010308)

White Horse Hotel?

Musselman house, Strasburg, built 1739

Gravestone of Susanna Miller, midwife, Pequea Twp., near Byerland Church

Page 60

News article about the collapse of stone bridge at Engleside

Reversed photo of home of Emanuel C. Reigart, 1860

Page 61

Reigart’s Landing – building and field

Graeff’s Landing – Tavern, built by George Graeff, 1784

Covered bridge built by Henry Slaymaker, 1807

Dwelling at REigart’s Landing, 1860, home of Emanuel C. Reigart (see page 60)

Page 62

Strasburg – Golden Swan Hotel, Levi Summy

Strasburg – Musselman House, built 1739 (LCHS photo 1020596)

Strasburg – Academy, Rev. D. McCarter, principal

Strasburg – South Decatur Street

Strasburg – Massasoit Hall

Page 63

Strasburg – 14-16 East Main Street – First Academy, 1803 – 1815, conducted by Robert Elliot, M.A. – D. B.Landis, photographer?

Strasburg – Second Academy, North Jackson Street

Strasburg – Third Academy

Strasburg – Classical School, Robert Elliot, 1800 – 1815

Strasburg – Swan Hotel, men standing nearby

Page 64

Tailor shop of Robert Fulton, father of inventor, north side of East King Street and Penn Square (LCHS photo 1010416)

Chestnut Level Presbyterian Church (King’s Daughters?)

South side of West King Street and Penn Square

Page 65

Southwest corner of King Street and Penn Square – Buchanan’s office (2 photos (LCHS photo 3110126 – check number)

Southeast corner of King Street and Penn Square – Watt and Shand

West King Street from ambrotype by Dr. Fahnestock – shows old courthouse (LCHS photo 1010427)

Page 66

Portrait of George Ross (LCHS photo 1020217)

Marker for George Ross House

Friends Meetinghouse, Columbia, Cherry Street between Third and South Streets

Page 67

Town House of George Ross from drawing by Stauffer (David McNeely Stauffer?)

Country house of George Ross, East side of Ross Street, east of Shippen Street

Shippen House, northwest corner of Orange and Lime Streets, site of YWCA (LCHS photo 2070601)

Page 68

Oldest house in Lancaster County – Hans Herr house, built 1719 (LCHS photo 2040327)

Datestone – Hans Herr house – 17 CH HR 19

Notes from account book of Jasper Yeates relating to purchase of home

Page 69

Eagle Hotel, northwest corner of Queen and Orange Streets, kept by Emanuel Shober – 1857 kept by Graybill Diller

Home of Jasper Yeates, southwest corner of South Queen and Mifflin Streets

Doorway to Yeates home (LCHS photo 1040430)

Bed in Yeates home

Mirror in Yeates home

Jasper Yeates’s signature

Page 70

YMCA, corner of North Queen and West Orange Streets

South side of East King Street, balloon ascension in background (LCHS photo 2040603)

Southeast corner of North Queen Street – taken down 1899 to build Woolworth building

East King Street and Duke Street

Page 71

Caleb Cope house – northeast corner of North Lime and Grant Streets – prison of Major Andre, 1928 residence of Mrs. Jaems G. Baker (LCHS photo 2070602 and print P010224)

Site of Woolworth building, John Baer’s bookstore

Birthplace of General John Reynolds and Admiral William Reynolds, southeast corner of King and Prince Streets, Lancaster Journal printed here (LCHS photo A100242)

Page 72

Notation of homes and business south side of Penn Square

First National Store (LCHS photo 1030141)

South side of Penn Square – Wise balloon in background (see page 73)

Windsor Forge Dam (two photos)

Page 73

Wise balloon ascension, September 18, 1869 (LCHS photo 1020418)

Penn Square balloon ascension – Penn Square from east (LCHS photo 2040603)

Penn square from the east (see above – no balloon in photo)

East King Street showing Reigart’s Old Wine Shop (LCHS photo 2040603)

Notation of homes business on East King Street – Penn Square to Lime Street, 1860

Page 74

Lancaster Academy – near northeast corner of Lime and Orange Streets – incorporated in 1827 – May 15, 1839 conveyed to Franklin College – located here until 1856

White Swan Hotel (Hubley’s Hotel) (LCHS photo 1010414)

Page 75

Showing Mischler’s Exchange/Central Cigar Store, etc.

Home built in 1810 by Cyrus Jacobs, ironmaster, for daughter

“Federal Hall” north of Churchtown

Parsonage o First German Reformed Church, east side of Duke Street, south of Orange Street, also law office of Hon. H. M. North – small frame building law office of Hon. Nathaniel Ellmaker – taken down 1908

Steeple of Moravian Church, Lititz (Print P010326)

Page 76

News article, portrait of Christopher Marshall

Unidentified one room schoolhouse

East King Street looking to Penn Square, News Depot – see page 65

Page 77

Home, 207 East Orange Street lot bought by Christopher Marhsall from Robert Thornburg, April 10, 1780

Office of Judge H. G. Long – south side Orange Street, west of Duke Street, taken down 1890

247 East Orange Street, residence of Dr. John Neff in 1777

Page 78

Silhouette of George Ross, second in wheelchair – V-P Pennsylvania?

Home of George Ross, Jr., northwest corner of Prince and Orange Street

Ten hour house – built by Benjamin Mishler, October 1, 1873 (LCHS photo 2070619)

Powell House, at ? and Lime Streets

Page 79

Parsonage – Trinity Lutheran Church, northeast corner of Duke and Grant Streets

215 East Orange Street (drawing), Christopher Marshall purchased this house from Col. John Cox – lived here during Revolution, died here 1782

Home of Hon. Henry G. Long, southeast corner of Duke and Orange Streets, taken down 1890

Page 80

Unidentified road – houses on each side

Page 81

Remley House – Columbia Ave or Marietta Pike (LCHS photo 2070610)

Home and distillery of Anthony Zehmer, North Prince Street opposite Marian Street

239 East Orange Street, home of Mathias Zahm, Jr. (LCHS photo 2070628)

“Old White House”, East Orange and Jefferson Street, tradition says Continental Congress met here in 1777, home of Timothy Matlock during Revolution

Page 82

Datestone – William Bausman and Elizabeth built this house 1762

Bausman House – Chief Burgess 1775

343-349 East King Street – demolished February 1950 (two photos)

Page 83

Home/drug store of Dr. D. R. McCormick, south side of West King Street near Mulberry Street (LCHS photo 2060910)

Steps and doorway, 207 East Orange Street

Home of John Mathiot, mayor of Lancaster in 1831, next to northwest corner of South Queen and Vine Streets

Halfway House – South Queen Street between Hazel and Hager Streets (See page 100)

Indian Queen Tavern – southeast corner of King and Church Streets, erected by Simon Kuhn as a home in 1763 – sold t Michael Lightner in 1788, licensed to keep the Indian Queen Hotel – takend down 1883 to build Eastern Market (LCHS photo 1030155)

Page 84

B. J. McGrann’s mansion

Page 85

Home of Emanuel Reigart, tanner, northwest corner of West King and Concord Streets, Helen Reimansnyder lived in house in 1880s

Home of Patton Ross, 1843, north side of Oarnge Street, east of Plum Street

Cat Tavern, west side of Prince Street, south of James Street, during Revolution Gen. Moses Hazen and troops quartered while guarding British prisoners

Page 86

Portrait of D. B. Landis, poet, printer, publisher

Historical marker, LCHS 1932 – stables during Revolution

Kramph’s Building (drawing), North Queen Street and Orange Street, torn down May 1909

Brinkman Wallpaper removal sale

Page 87

Home of William and John R. Montgomery, east side of South Queen Street, north of Vine Street, also Muhlenberg’s

Home of Judge Charles Smith, home of Paul Zantzinger, built by Jasper Yeates – sold by Charles Smith to Milton C. Rogers, December 9, 1883 – also YMCA Free Reading Room – S. H. Zahm secondhand bookstore

Page 88

Tomb of James Buchanan

Postcard of Clare Point Stock Farm, Ephrata

Page 89

Home of Peter Winover, house painter, 1839, south side of West King Street west of Mulberry Street

Powell House – Saw Buck House, northeast corner of Middle and Lime Street, taken down 1896 (see page 78)

Home of Col. William Pitt Atlee, northwest corner of Lime and East King Streets, date on gable end 1761 – in 1784 was Ship Tavern kept by Maj. John B. Light, 1803 name change to The Anchor, kept by William P. Atlee, Barton Henderson and Stephen St. John. In 1843 residence of Dr. Washington L. Atlee (drawing)

Page 90

Home of Charlotte Harpel, taken down 1899 by Dr. T. C. Detwiler, southeast corner of Chestnut Street facing Charlotte Street

News clipping – August 20, 1896 relating to demolition of N. Prince and Marion Street (Moravian Church?)

Page 91

Home of Mollie Hand, site of residence of Judge Appel 1860 – 1960, King Theater, north side of King Street east of Plum Street

City Hall (see page 9) (LCHS photo 1010410)

East King Street to Penn Square – news Depot, Buchanan office (LCHS photo 3110126 – check number)

Green Cottage, Catherine Yeates’s cottage, west corner of Fremont and Dorwart Streets

Portrait of Alexander H. Hood, Esq., 1806 – 1875

Page 92

Home, west corner of East King Street and Howard Avenue

47 South Queen Street showing Stevens tablet

Albright’s Transportation Depot of Pennsylvania Railroad, north side of Chestnut Street, west of Queen Street – taken down in 1897 by Long & Davidson

News clipping relating to demolition above

Page 93

Home of Barney Mulhatten, grandfather of Hon. Frank. B. McClain, northwest corner of Duke and James Streets

Home of Dr. Samuel Dufresne, east side of North Queen Street south of Orange Street

Dissecting house and laboratory of Dr. Dufresne on Christian Street, behind home

Dedication of Historical marker, 307 North Duke Street

Page 94

George Krug house – West King and Prince Streets (see page 97) (LCHS photo 2070607)

Heinitsh Drug Store (with information)

Page 95

Hutter’s Folly – built by Christian Hutter as home and button factory, afterward used as brewery by John Broll, then by Springer – fifth block of Orange Street, north side (two photos)

Heinitsh Drug Store (drawing) (see page 94) (LCHS print P010210)

Unidentified small home

Page 96

No photos – history of Krug House (on page 97) and British prison, photos may be missing

Page 97

Krug House (see history page 96) – two photos (LCHS photos 3020107 and 2070608)

Unidentified row of homes

Page 98

Datestone – GEORG BURCKHER U ANNA MARGARITA 1764

Row of homes opposite Woodward Hill

Description of Haggerty murder – signed William A. Morton

Page 99

Home built by George Burkhart 1764 – January 2, 1783, his daughter married Christian B. Mayer and went ther to live – stayed in Mayer family until bought by Dr. John Altee (two photos)

Shreiner’s Home – 2/5 mile east of Landis Valley Museum

Page 100

Halfway House – west side of South Queen Street on Hazel Street, halfway between Penn Square and Conestoga Creek, kept by Widow Knight (two photos)

Home of William A. Morton, mayor of Lancaster (on porch), 705 South Queen Street

Page 101

Homes of Matthias and Godfried Zahm (LCHS photo 1010425)

Home of Elias Barr, who in 1847 made gas for No. 1 Cotton Mill, first gas made in Lancaster, south end of Filbert Street

Row of houses, south side of Vine Street, west of Duke Street

Page 102

Portrait of Matlack – member of American Philosophical Society

Matlack house – Orange and Jefferson Streets (from drawing)

Paper mill and Binkley’s Bridge, Eden (LCHS photo 1030342)

Old St. John’s Church, Pequea (Compassville)

Page 107

Eden Iron Works – built by W. C. Beecher

Unidentified buildings near water, men in boat

Carpenter’s Church, Talmadge (two photos)

Drawing of Friends Meetinghouse, now Odd Fellows Hall

Pequea Presbyterian Church, showing tree under which Whitefield preached

Page 108

First sewing machines

24028 North Queen Street, 26-28 property of Jacob Loeb, Shreiner Building and Grape Hotel, also shows house/wagon and men

Postcard reproduction of Howard Pyle’s last important painting: DuPont Powder Wagon Carrying Powder to Commodore Perry in 1813

Old Conestoga Wagon (Gingrich’s) of Lancaster, PA, used on a trip from Washington to Erie, June 1913

Page 109

Friends Meetinghouse, Columbia, Cherry Street between Third and Fourth Streets

Pequea Presbyterian Church (LCHS photo 2040410)

Page 110

Old Eagle Hotel, Churchtown, built 10 years prior to Revolution, earliest innkeeper recoreded was Edward Hughes, 1772

Sign of the Hat Tavern, Old Phildelphia Road near Gap, history of tavern and name given Caldwell owners

Page 111

Tomb of General John A. Sutter, Moravian Cemetery, Lititz (two photos)

Memorial on house I which Gen. Sutter died, now Madis Hotel

Detail of memorial above

Views of house in which Gen. Sutter died, June 16, 1880, corner Penn Avenue and Third Street, northwest Washington DC

Page 112

Sign – Bishop Bowman Home, founded AD 185?, East side Orange Street, west of Lime Street – history of home noted

Page 113

Hopewell Furnace

Lancaster County National Bank, rebuilt, shows William L. Peiper, president and T. F. H. Brenneman, cashier

Wall with photos of U. S. Presidents

Postcard Hans or Christian Herr House, 1719

Page 114

Andrew Ellicott lived in Lancaster 1801-1813, news clipping from Sunday News, January 8, 1950

Andrew Ellicott

Page 115

Church? Northwest corner of Orange and Mulberry Streets (St. John’s Reformed?)

Pennsbury, Home of William Penn

Page 116

Portrait – Andrew Ellicott (see page 114)

William Uhler Hensel

Andrew Porter

Simon?

Jasper Yeates

Joseph Heister

Page 117

Ephrata Mountain Springs Hotel – Joseph Konigmacher, proprietor

Voganville Hotel and residence of Mr. John Vogan, founder of village of Voganville, 1830 – hotel ? by Martin Beck

Page 118

Portrait – David Ramsey

Portrait – George Bryan

Portrait – Hon. Charles Smith

Portrait – not identified

Portrait – Andrew Ellicott (see page 114)

Portrait – William Jenkins, Esq.

Page 119

Portrait – Judge A. L. Hayes

Portrait – J. A. Forney

Portrait – Reah Frazer

Portrait – George Ross

Portrait – Adam Reigart

Page 120

Portrait – S. S. Haldeman

Portrait – Rev. Thomas Barton, Rector of St. James Episcopal Church (LCHS photo 2070913)

Portrait – M. W. Geist

Portrait - ? Snyder

Page 121

The Death of Wolfe by Benjamin West

Portrait – Miss Elizabeth Armstrong

Portrait – Thomas Mifflin

Page 122

Portrait – Rev. Joseph Clarkson – from miniature by du Samitiere

Portrait – Thaddeus Stevens – commemorative print

Portrait – Mr. Witmer – founder of Paradise

Portrait – Mrs. Witmer

Page 123

Portrait – Langdon Cheves (LCHS photo 2050504)

Portrait – Maj. Gen. Samuel P. Heintzelman

Portrait – John Funk, painter, Strasburg

Portrait – Rev. Hans Herr, from painting by John Funk

Page 124

Cover page of Francis Baily Almanac, 1779, on which Washington was fist called “Father of His Country”

Tombstone of Peter Bezillon, St. John’s Episcopal Church, Compassville (See page 22)

Snuff box presented to Andrew Hamilton with history in notation (2 photos)

Page 125

Burial place of Rev. Hans Herr, 1725, Mennonite Cemetery ½ mile east of Willow Street

Old Dering house near Witmer Bridge

Portrait of Charles Hall, Esq., husband of Elizabeth Coleman, from a miniature

Charles Wise, aeronaut, son of John Wise

Page 126

Franklin and Marshall Recitation Hall (similar LCHS photo D010135 and D010137)

Portrait of George H. Knig?

Portrait of John S. Stahr (similar LCHS photo 1010113)

Franklin and Marshall Diagnothian hall (similar LCHS photo D100148 and D101049)

Page 127

Portrait – Samuel Slaymaker

Portrait – George N. Reynolds

Portrait – Willim Gill, photographer

Portrait – H. M. North

Page 128

Sign of the Bull Tavern, Compassville, George Washington at breakfast here June 4, 1773

J. B. Distillery, Rohrerstown, erected by Henry Bear, 1775

Page 129

Datestone – ANDREAS GRAFF 7

Datestone – CATHARINA 67

Home built by Andreas Graff, 1767, on Conestoga Creek east of Lancaster

Home of Col. Alexander Lowery (farm)

Wheatland

Page 130

Jake Parks, two photos, one dated 1910 (LCHS photo 2011019)

Blind Johnny Pastor, Penn Square, Hirsh’s Corner (LCHS photo 1020327)

Hiram Kroome, 1910, Lancaster (LCHS photo 2011106)

News clipping about Dr. Samuel H. Metzger

Page 131

Rev. Colin McFarquahr

Portrait – George Steinman, d. 1920

Home of Jacob Eichholtz, west side of Lime Street, north of Vine Street, about 1928

Portrait of George B. Porter

Page 132

Notes for opposite page

Page 133

Home of Samuel Stambauch, on Lititz Pike, one mile north of city, bought by Pennsylvania Railroad in 1882, turned into Union Stockyard Hotel

Home of Nathaniel Burt, 1844, Salisbury – before Revolution was Bull’s Head Tavern kept by James Hamilton, afterwards called the Waterloo, kept by Thomas G. Henderson

Waterloo Tavern sign (LCHS photo 2030823)

Home of William Carpenter, during Revolution home of James Webb, lodging place of Quakers during Revolution (LCHS photo 1010570)

Page 134

Stehli Silk Mill, four photos, 1898, 1925, 1926, 1927

Page 135

Ruins of old factory (three photos) not identified

Humes Mill before burned

House on grounds of old silk mill

Row of buildings, sign E. Lamparter’s Conestoga Glue Factory (LCHS photo 1010428)

Page 136

Notes for page 137

Datestone – WD 1747 (for Samuel Downing’s Mill, Bart Township?)

Page 137

Survivors of Christiana Riot – two photos, one with corn cutter

Christiana Riot house (Parker)

Scene of Christiana Riot (house in ruins)

Buildings at Samuel Downing’s Mill in Bart Township – store

Buildings at Samuel Downing’s Mill in Bart Township – Downing’s house

Buildings at Samuel Downing’s Mill in Bart Township – Blacksmith shop

Page 138

Hotel at west end of Witmer’s Bridge, built and kept by Abraham Witmer

Datestone for Witmer Bridge

Page 139

Witmer’s Bridge – oldest stone arch bridge in U.S.

Datestone for Witmer Bridge (see page 138)

Witmer Hotel?

Rank’s Mill

Springhouse on Rank property

Page 140

Notes on page opposite

Page 141

Ruins of York Furnace bridge

Letter giving information relating to York Furnace bridge

Edge Tool Forge, Fulton Township – George H. Hews (sickle works – Puddle Duck Run)

Page 142

Old Mill, east side of Conestoga Creek, East Lampeter, built by Yost Musser 1763 – sold to Sebastian Groff, sold to city 1888

Binkley’s Bridge, Manheim Township, buildt by Christ Binkley 1789 – first stone arch bridge in country, cost $17,000 – stood until 1867 when a pillar gave way (four photos) (LCHS photo 1030342)

Ferry house of Hnery Dering on west side of Conestoga south side Philadelphia Pike, built by Samuel Bethel – more history noted – destroyed by fire in 1901

Page 143

No photos – information for photos on page 142

Page 144

Old Factory southeast of Lancaster – also shows bridge (LCHS photo 2030730)

Ruins of Old Factory after fire? (LCHS photo 2070415)

Page 145

Humes Woolen Mill – Humesville – notes on history of mill, owner, etc.

Home of John Miller, manager

Historical marker, LCHS, 1918 – land patent to Madame Ferree

Page 146

Demolition of building – two photos – one showing automobile partially covered by wreckage

Page 147

Home of James Wright, Columbia

Wright’s ferry (?) patent procured by John Wright, 1730

Columbia Bridge after the fire, June 28, 1863

Page 148

Rockford

Account of death of John Hand from August Heinitsh diary

Home of Col. Samuel J. Atlee, the Old Road, Salisbury

Page 149

Rockford

Rockford with porch removed between 1886 – 1894

Birthplace of Robert Fulton

Birthplace of Col. Reah Frazer, Carpenter Hall

Page 150

Information about photos on opposite page

Page 151

Wabank House – erected on Conestoga at Lock #3, 1854, cost $60,000 – list of stockholders and additional information

Millersville Academy, built 1854 – changed to State Normal School in 1859 – first in PA

Page 152

Portrait, James Buchanan, from campaign picture by Courier, 1856

Tomb of James Buchanan, Woodward Hill Cemetery

Document relating to use of Abbeville as an institution dated Feruary 18, 1835

Notes on history of Abbeville

Page 153

Wheatland (LCHS photo D080330)

Abbeville

Abbeville well

Page 154

Fireback – STIEGEL ELIZABETH FURNACE 1769 – furnace bult by Henry William Stiegel, Manheim, 1762, built by Henry William Stiegel and Alexander Stedman at Elizabeth Furnace in 1757

News clipping “Longenecker Residence Sold”

First windmill in county, built by Rudy Herr

Page 155

Home of Robert Coleman – Stiegel wing to right

Residence of Henry William Stiegel, Manheim

Hardwicke, built by Sebastian Groff, sold to William Coleman April 28, 1824 – taken by Pennsylvania Railroad to build cutoff one mile north of city – 1843 home of James Cameron, Esq. (Print P010327)

Page 156

George Ross House, interior?

House on John Grosh farm, half mile east of Landis Valley Museum

Home, snow, sleigh, southeast corner Chestnut and Charlotte Streets, taken down in 1899

Historical house, New Holland, 1900

Buch Tavern

Page 157

Birthplace of David Ramsay – from pencil sketch (Print P010314)

Birthplace of David Ramsay – Drumore, April 2, 1749, taken down 1890

Home of Lazarus Lowery, came from Ireland 1728, licensed to trade with Indians 1729, Donegal

Home of Col. Alexander Lowery, Donegal, built 1759

Home of Honorable J. H. Brown, Oak Hill, Paradies, built by John Carpenter, 1808

Page 158

Birthplace of Robert Fulton (LCHS photo 2040302 and Print P010319)

Birthplace of Robert Fulton – Robert Fulton, Sr. moved from Lancaster to Little Britain Township in 1765, son born November 14, 1765

Page 159

Birthplace of Robert Fulton – from painting by Robert Fulton Ludlow (see page 25) (LCHS photo 2040305)

Birthplace of Robert Fulton

Harmony Hall near Soudersburg – home of Steeles and Porters

Page 160

Martic Forge, two photos (LCHS 1010307)

Letter relating to Sign of the Three Crowns Tavern, painted by Benjamin West

Page 161

History of Martic Forge and Furnace 1753 to 1804

Martic Forge, two photos

Sign of the Three Crowns – Stevens House, 1959 (LCHS photo 2030824)

Three Crowns Tavern

Page 162

Pencil sketch of Church – the Last Preparations

Unidentified stone building with frame wing

Keeners Mill on Chickies Creek, Rapho Township

Doneagal Spring and Church (LCHS photo 2070126)

Page 163

Pencil sketch of Strasburg Academy, built 1836, 1840 converted into Soldiers’ Orphans Home

Invitation to cotillion party at Massasoit Hall, Strasburg for B. Frank Brenneman and lady

Martin Mylin House, built 1740 – called palace of sandstone, taken down 1900

Sunflower Inn, Bart, on Williamstown Pike

Page 164

Episcopal church interior on estate of Daisy Grubb – endowed to pay salary of minister (two photos) (LCHS photo 2070122) Mt. Hope Episcopal Church?

Informatin relating to photos on opposite page

Page 165

Windsor Forge mansion – 1 mile south of Churchtown, main section built by David Jenkins 1765 (see information on page 164)

Grubb Mansion, Mt. Hope, Penn Township

Charcoal furnace at Mt. Hope – October 22, 1784 – Jacob Graybill sold Peter Grubb 212 and a half acres near head of Chickies Creek on which he built Mt. Hope Furnace

Page 166

Moss Cigar Factory fire, January 11, 1907 (two photos) (LCHS photos 2070234 and 2070235)

Fulton Cotton Mill, destruction by explosion July 13, 1867, built by William Wiley and Co. 1865, southwest corner of Duke and Lemon Streets – rebuilt in 1879 controlled by George Calder Jr. and Co.

Conestoga Furnace, southwest corner of Prince and Furnace Streets

Page 167

Home of George Tomlinson, east of Water works

Sign post 17 IN-KN 35

Safe harbor Rolling Mill, Conestoga built by Reeves, Abbot & Co. 1848

Page 168

Abbeville Mill, one mile west of Lancaster on Columbia Pike and Little Conestoga Creek

Datestone on Abbeville Mill 1767

Covered bridge, not identified

David H. Landis

Page 169

The Practical Farmer hotel, Leman Place, kept by William Reynolds, gradfather of General John Reynolds

Sign – the Practical Farmer 1813 (LCHS photo 1010312)

Home built by James Clemson, 1737, Salisbury

Shreiner, Philip – home – Sawbuck House (see page 199)

Page 170

Indian carvings in Rocks in the Susquehanna

Photographed by David H. Landis

Page 171

Indian carvings – see above – ten photos, two showing people

Page 172

Pennsylvania Railroad bridge over Conestoga east of Lancaster (train on bridge)

Pennsylvania Railroad bridge showing waterworks

Waterworks, photo by David Bachman Landis, 1908

Page 173

Waterworks, photo by David Bachman Landis, 1908

Waterworks, large photo with building only

Large stone home – note says also 186

Page 174

Lancaster County Historical Society, April 1924

Interior of LCHS at 307 North Duke Street, oopened to the public, rear view of auditorium, December 6, 1924

Page 175

LCHS auditorium, front mantle

Picture of old Conestoga Wagon – Amos Gingrich 1929, property of Hager & Bros.

News clipping – German language – pictures/article – First Elephant in Lancaster

Page 176

Stairway of oak ? – Christian Herr House

Page 177

Pool Forge near Churchtown, 1925

Fireplace in Hans Herr House (LCHS photo 1010495)

Page 178

Steinman Home, South Prince Street, Lancaster, 1900 (LCHS photo 2030917)

Rockford 1926

Page 179

City Hall, Greist Building (built 1924), Zahm’s Corner (LCHS photo 2030736)

Aerial view of Lancaster

Strasburg, 1926, Main Street showing birthplace of Thomas Burrowes

Page 180

Ephrata Cloister – showing harvested corn field

Ephrata Cloister – distant view

Page 181

Saron (Sisters’ House), Ephrata Cloister (LCHS photos 1010238 and 2040226)

Low grade railroad bridge near Martic Forge, 1910

Page 182

LCHS outing, August 4, 1925, showing Walter C. Hager, T. Roberts Appel, Cyrus Fox (Reading), members listening to address

LCHS outing – Pool Forge 1925 (two photos)

Pool Forge, 1925

Page 183

LCHS outing – Pool Forge, 1925 – three photos

Page 184

LCHS outing – Pool Forge 1925

T. Roberts Appel at Pool Forge, 1925

Millersville, looking west towards LeTort

Page 185

LCHS outing, home of Harry Landis, June 18, 1927, home barn with antiques, 13,000 books, members (five photos)

LCHS outing, Hessdale, June 30, 1927 – shows old mill, house, members identified are Miss Haldy, Mr. Lippold, Mrs. A., Mr. Beck, Mrs. Landis, Mr. Woerner, Master Beck (three photos)

Page 186

Historical marker – Caledonia Furnace, Franklin County, operated by Thaddeus Stevens

Unveiling marker, 1927 – shown: H. H. Beck, J. W. Lippold, C. H. Martin

Elizabeth Furnace

LCHS at Elizabeth Furnace (two photos)

Abbeville Mill (see page 173)

Page 187

Covered bridge over Chickies Creek at Keener Mill

Witmer’s Bridge, Conestoga Creek (LCHS photo 2070501)

B. F. Davis

Page 188

Statue of James Buchanan, placing wreath at unveiling ceremonies, June 1928, gift from D. L. Buchmiller to Lancaster

Justice J. hay Brown – listening to address at unveiling ceremony of James Buchanan statue

Parade from Hensel hall to Buchanan statue in Buchanan Park, June 1, 1928

Page 189

Committee appointed by Demo. Of Lancaster Count to mark grave of James Buchanan, May 30, 1928 – Mrs. T. Wallace Reilly, Fred Hammond, George W. Hensel Jr., Rev. W. W. Edge D.D., George B. Willson, Daniel Bair (LCHS photo 3110140 – check number)

Marshall College, Mercersburg

Page 190

Old South Duke Street building prior to 1892

News clipping about Mishler’s Beer Garden, 300 block of Howard Avenue

Statue of unidentified man

Page 191

Old mile stone, 9 miles east of Lancaster on Lincoln Highway – 53 mi to P 9 mi to L

Page 192

Cloister – fireplace second floor (LCHS photo 2040238)

Angle view Saal and Saron, showing bell of clock on roof – Cloister (LCHS photo 2040224)

Page 193

Matin Room – Cloister, spinning wheels, straw plaster (LCHS photo 2040233)

Cell, Cloister, wooden bunk, block pillow, plaster between ax hewn timbers (LCHS photo 2040237)

Page 194

Saron 1740 Cloister (LCHS photo 2040225)

Almonry, Saal and Saron, Clositer

Page 195

Stone house adjoining Saron (pump under right end of building, back of fence, Cloister) (LCHS photo 2040227)

Clock mechanism – strikes on hour 1735 Cloister (LCHS photo 2040236)

Page 196

Saron, corner of kitchen with built in copper kettle and stone sink, Cloister (LCHS photo 2040235)

Saron, corner of room, wooden latch/knocker on door, 2 original chairs and jewelers work bench (LCHS photo 2040234)

Page 197

Tomb of John Conrad Beissel, Cloister

Carpet loom, hand operated, Cloister

Page 198

LCHS outing – Valley Forge, May 12, 1928 – group includes Mr. and Mrs. D. B. Landis

LCHS outing – Herbert Beck welcome address at Valley Forge, Hon. A. J. Seyfert

LCHS outing – Judge John M. Groff, speaking at Memorial Chapel – Mary R. Crowel, Miss M. Russell

Page 199

LCHS outing – Valley Forg – front of Memorial Chapel

LCHS outing – Frank Eshleman making a speech, Susan Fraser

LCHS outing – A. K. Hostetter, George W. Hensel Sr., C. H. Martin, Charles Todd, G. J. P. Raub

LCHS outing – C. A. Sauber, Miss Remley, Mrs. Remley, D. F. Magee

Page 200

LCHS outing – chimes, cadets

LCHS outing – Group near chapel

LCHS outing – model of huts used by Continental Army

Page 201

Old Welsh Graveyard, Terre Hill, November 10, 1928

Old Welsh Graveyard, Terre Hill, Gravestone of Judge Edwards

Old Welsh Graveyard, Terre Hill, Gravestone of Gen. Hambright

Old Welsh Graveyard, Terre Hill, three gravestones

Page 202

New railroad station opened to public April 28, 1929 (3 photos)

Page 203

New railroad station opened to public April 28, 1929 – tracks – (3 photos)

Page 204

Historical marker – Swamp Church, September 30, 1929, several persons are identified

Crossing the Alleghenies in 1840 – old portage railroad

Page 205

Sign/entrance to General Sutter Hotel, Lititz (2 photos)

Historical marker, LCHS, John A. Sutter, 1939 (2 photos)

General John Agustus Sutter, at residence in Lititz, 1877

Page 206

LCHS outing, September 14, 1928, Indiantown, Clay Township, on lawn of Michael Eberly – Dr. Henry Bender read paper to members, “Nanticoke Indians in Lancaster County”

LCHS outing – Indiantown, September 14, 1928 – Prof. Herbert Beck addressing the group

Page 207

Old St. John’s Protestant Episcopal Church, Compassville – congregation assembled to celebrate 200the anniversary of founding of the parish, September 28, 1929 – parish organized 1729, building erected 1838-39 – communion service presented to parish 1766 on chancel rail – Edith L. Baldwin, historian

Dining room with set tables (2 identical photos)

Page 208

Mt. Bethel, Columbia – partially demolished 1929

Mt. Bethel, interior cellar archway – se Sunday News November 3, 1929 for additional info

Page 209

Bust of unidentified man

Washington Memorial Chapel, Valley Forge, interior

Penn Square showing monument and Watt and Shand

Page 210

Circular staircase (2 photos)

East King Street – Reigart’s Old Wine Store (see page 72) (LCHS photo 207701)

Page 211

Documents in German

Page 212

Map of Chester County and part of Lancaster County

Page 213

Statue of Stiegel?

Page 214

Penn Square, 1923 – Monument, 5 trolley cars, Hirsh Bros., (LCHS photo 2070706)

Page 215

Historical marker LCHS – memorial Frederick Valentine Melsheimer

Page 216

Hardwicke – newspaper clipping (Print P010327)

Page 217

Isaac Long barn on farm of Jacob Landis where church of the United Brethren was born 1766 – reproduction

Page 218

Document in German – poem (inspirational)

Page 219

Terms and conditions of the Boarding School for Female Education, Lititz

Page 220

Meeting of employees of Stehli Silks Corporation – fourth Liberty Loan, September 30, 1918

Page 221

Harry H. Snavely farm – taken on day Historical Marker on the Martin Mylin gun ship was unveiled (gun shop shown on photo)

Page 222

Will of John Whiteside

Page 223

Document, John Whiteside

Statue of James Buchanan (LCHS photo 3110117 – check number)

Page 224

Witness Tree, Donegal Church, 1927

Page 225

Document in German – Inspirational

Page 226

Indiantown celebration, September 13, 1924 – group (LCHS photo 1010212)

Indiantown celebration, Chief Strong Wolf (2 photos)

Indiantown celebration, Albert Myers, D. H. Landis, A. K. Hostetter, Chief Strong Wolf

Page 229

Curb market, Duke and King Streets (2 photos) (LCHS photos 2060915 and 2060919)

Penn Square 1925 – woman with market baskets (LCHS photo 2030735)

Mennonite girl - no identification

News clipping? Miss Annie C. Grove

Page 230

Trinity Lutheran Church – pulpit – dates 1766 – 1866

Trinity Lutheran Church – organ

Page 231

Drawing by Major John Andre with letter from Thomas P. Cope, Philadelphia, 1851

Page 232

Shoemaker at work, not indentified

Page 233

Shelves with books/artifacts

Colored print of bouquet of flowers

Residence of Henry William Stiegel, Manheim (drawing)

Stiegel’s office, Manheim

Page 234

Chalice

Book (Latin)

Stone marker

Page 235

Flage – deep green ground – tiger attempting to pass hunger – motto: DO MORI HOLI (2 photos)

Page 236/237

News clipping, Lancaster City, July 3, 1926, New Era

News clipping, southwest corner Penn Square showing Young Republican Club Headquarters, c. 1927

Page 237

Kepler Lodge, Martic Forge – main building – boys standing at attention – American Flag

Page 238

Spanish War Monument, Buchanan Park

Unidentified war memorial

Postlethwaite marker, LCHS, 1915

Gateway to Greenwood Cemetery, South Queen Street, 1895 (LCHS photo 3160109 – check number)

James Buchanan tomb, Woodward Hill Cemetery (see page 152)

Page 239

Stehli Silk Mill, 1926, cafeteria

Sign – Berks County Historical Society

Bookplate – Library, Vermont Historical Society, Frank Reid Diffenderfer, Ex Libris, Walter C. Hager

Page 240

Watercolor – German – flowers – woman – “Beautiful Woman”

Page 241

Shippen School play at Upland Lawn, home of H. S. Williamson, Wheatland Avenue (3 photos) – A Midsummer’s Night Dream

Page 242

Millersville State Normal School – Old Main (similar to LCHS photo D010255)

Millersville State Normal School – lake

Millersville State Normal School – library

Page 243

Lake, park, boats (not identified)

Conestoga Wagon, horses and five people (see page 1) (LCHS photo 2070802)

Page 244

News clipping about lottery announcement

Receipts

Page 245

Receipts from Farmer’s Bank?

Page 246

Counterfeit cigar stamps

Oaths of allegience

Page 247

Lancaster City Loan notes, 12 ½ cents, 25 cents, 50 cents

Note – 50 cents, signed L. Slaymaker

Name card, Dr. F. S. Burrowes, Strasburg

Name card, John Joseph Henry’s property

Name card, Walter Franklin

Coat of Arms: William Augustus Atlee, Esq.

Page 248

Marietta and Susquehanna Trading Company notes

Stamps, 2 cents, 2 cents, 10 cents

Page 249

Marietta and Susquehanna Trading Company notes

News clipping “Relic of a Lost Cause” – confederate money

Postcard – Fulton souvenir (message side) two cent stamp

Page 250

Columbia Borough Loan notes

Bank of Lancaster notes

Seal, James Buchanan

Page 251

Buchanan medal – Dr. Frederick Rose

Buchanan medal – J. Willson

Page 252

Advent Lutheran Church

Arch to honor Lafayette on visit to Lancaster, July 27, 1825 (see page 257) (LCHS photo D070144)

Page 253

Tombstone – Simon Adam Kuhn, Trinity Lutheran Churchyard

Zion Lutheran Church – interior

Page 254

Stamps – Valley Forge from sheet of 100 first sold at Lancaster Post Office on date of issue, May 26, 1926 – presented by Hon. A. G. Seyfert who bought first sheet

Stock certificate – Conestoga Navagation Company

Sheriff record – payment to Felix Donnley for care and interment of Indians

Page 255

Rates of tool to be collected on the Philadelphia and Lancaster Turnpike Road, Gate No. ?

Ticket to opening of Columbia and Philadelphia Railway

Receipt for payment for shares of stock – Conestoga Navigation Company

Receipt for payment for shares of stock – Susquehanna Canal Office

Way-bill from Port Deposit to Lancaster

Page 256

Receipt for payment for writing instruction – Gideon Brenneman to S. Mason Dr.

Note relating to decorations during Lafayette visit

WELCOME 76 LAFAYETTE – used at Conestoga Center 1825 (print?)

Page 257

Arch to welcome Lafayette (see page 252) (LCHS photo D070144)

First prayer in Congress

German newspaper, June 25, 1798 – John Marshall in Lancaster

Page 258

Invitations to balls – for Miss Michael at various places

Page 259

Postage stamp 25 cents

Book store names, proprietors

Patriotic ribbon – Delegates – Soldiers of War of 1812

Political ribbon – Henry Clay

Receipt for payment of dues by George Steinman

Turnpike ticket, Lancaster, Elizabethtown and Middletown

Newspaper clipping

Decorative card – German script – heart, crown, and cross (baptism?) 1780

Page 260

Tax record

Bounty bond

Page 263

Political ribbon – Abraham Lincoln

Invitation to Lafayette Ball to Mrs. Russell

Photo of keyboard?

50 note – John Urban’s Cross Keys Hotel

 

Page 264

Lottery tickets

Newspapers announcements related to lottery July 13, 1805

Page 265

Lottery tickets

Page 266

Invitation – cotillion – Slaymaker

Invitation – picnic – Henry E. Slaymaker

Reichsbanknote

Empty envelope – fancy Dem. Ball at Fulton Hall, 1858

Page 267

Portrait – George M. Steinman

Page 268

Letterhead W. H. Watts & Co. Tiles – message

Mantle from American House, Lancaster, torn down July 20, 1912 – on back of mantle: house built 1805 by William Kirkpatrick… John C. Tener, carpenter

Rev. John D. Nevin, D.D. (LCHS photo 2010324)

Page 269

Plan of Lancaster city c. 1852

Page 270

Street plan showing government buildings in Lancaster 1776

Hamilton Grant, grant from original dated 1753

Historical marker, LCHS, First settlement in Lancaster County 1710

Map of the estate of Philip Ferree (from Barr Ferree)

Page 271

Map of Old Conestoga (1715 – 1729)

Statue of man (see page 190?)

Page 272

Petition form John Galbreath to court

Southwest view of Lancaster

Bird’s eye view of Lancaster – Pennsylvania Business College located it?

Loose print in back of album: Portrait of John Piersol McCaskey – 70th birthday, October 9, 1907, presented to LCHS 1908 by S. M. Sener

LAST_UPDATED2
 

Our Blogs

The History Bucket

bloghistbucket

Because the world is a bucketful of questions.  And someone's gotta answer them

While working with the object collections of LancasterHistory.org we come across many questions.  Visit here to see some of the more unusual stories that we have uncovered.

[Read My Blog]

Historically Speaking

speaking

The staff and volunteers of the Archives Department at LancasterHistory.org never know what they'll find when working on the documents and records in the collections.  Fortunately, when they do discover something noteworthy they are very willing to share!

[Read Our Blog]

Marianne's PhotoBlog

photblogheading

Because pictures are worth a thousand words, but sometimes they need an interpreter.

You know that cliché about a picture being worth a thousand words? Ok, well, imagine the stories going on in my head after cataloging several hundred photos every single day!

[Read My Blog]

Wheatland: A Love Story

Who would have guessed that a young lady would fall in love with an old President and his old house?

One Young Lady, One Old House, Two Hundred Years of History

I’m Jennifer Walton, Museum Associate at President James Buchanan's Wheatland, and I love an old President and his old house! Over the past nine years, I’ve learned quite a lot about both, and I would love to share it with you!

[Read My Blog]



Facebook Slider
Facebook Slider
Facebook Slider