Statement of Purpose

Image of part of the LancasterHistory.org logo.LancasterHistory.org is a community-based, not-for-profit organization established to educate the public on the history of Lancaster County and its place in the history of Pennsylvania and the United States, to advance the missions of regional historical organizations, and to promote the acquisition, preservation, and interpretation of resources representing the history of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania within the broader context of state and national history, including the life and legacy of America’s fifteenth president, James Buchanan, and to preserve and maintain Wheatland, his home.

Mission Statement

LancasterHistory.org exists to engage and educate the public about the people, places, and events that shaped Lancaster County within the broader context of the history of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania and the United States of America. As custodians of a complex past, we collect, preserve, exhibit, and make accessible materials chronicling Lancaster County’s heritage as we seek to engage audiences in multi-layered stories of that past.

LancasterHistory.org Leadership

  • Eugene H. Gardner, Jr., Chair
  • Robert L. Glover, First Vice Chair
  • Hale A. Krasne, Second Vice Chair
  • Margot L. Brubaker, Secretary
  • Kenneth I. Huber, Treasurer & Assistant Secretary
2017-2018 Board of Directors
  • Michael L. Abel
  • Melvin C. Breaux
  • Margot L. Brubaker
  • Craig G. Coleman
  • J. Thomas Dunlevy
  • D. Robert Fenninger
  • Paul D. Fulmer
  • Eugene H. Gardner, Jr.
  • Robert L. Glover
  • Carlos Graupera
  • Kenneth I. Huber
  • Leroy T. Hopkins, Jr.
  • Hale A. Krasne
  • Rosemary T. Krill
  • Michael W. Schmid
  • Susan H. Stoudt
  • Joseph R. Timko
  • Gerald Wilson
  • Suzanne Chairsell Woodard
Presidents Emeriti
  • John McCullough Gibson, FLCHS (1961-1966)
  • Gary M. Baer (1995-1998)
Trustees Emeriti
  • Marguerite S.V. Adams
Fellows of the Lancaster County Historical Society
  • Michael L. Abel, FLCHS
  • Marian R. Gerhard, FLCHS
  • John M. Gibson, FLCHS
  • Ralph Goodno, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • Clarke Hess, FLCHS
  • John Jarvis, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • Mortimer Kadushin, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • William E. Krantz, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • Gerald S. Lestz, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • John Ward Wilson Loose, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • Willis Shenk, FLCHS (Deceased)
  • Stacy B.C. Wood, Jr., FLCHS (Deceased)
Honorary Directors
  • Kendig C. Bare (Deceased)
  • C. Richard Farmer
  • John B. Graybill
  • Terry Lee
  • W. Fred Kinsey, III, Ph.D.
  • Bruce P. Ryder, Esq. (Deceased)
Honorary Associate Directors
  • Mary Anne Aichele
  • Barbara T. Brown
  • Lynn Dolan, Ph.D.
  • Samuel M. Mecum, Esq.
  • Barry C. Mentzer
  • Michael J. Minney, Esq. (Deceased)
  • Virginia Lancaster
  • Dale Mohler
  • Laura Sadler Olin
  • Mark R. Simeral
  • Julia S. Shirk

Annual Reports

2015-2016 Annual Report

2013-2014 Annual Report